aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGlauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com>2011-07-11 15:28:14 -0400
committerAvi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>2011-07-14 12:59:14 +0300
commitc9aaa8957f203bd6df83b002fb40b98390bed078 (patch)
tree96930ff2cbf73f6b0a3f4973e3933d036af13544 /arch/x86/include/asm
parent9ddabbe72e41ca6794cb4947c70929c9410e6752 (diff)
KVM: Steal time implementation
To implement steal time, we need the hypervisor to pass the guest information about how much time was spent running other processes outside the VM, while the vcpu had meaningful work to do - halt time does not count. This information is acquired through the run_delay field of delayacct/schedstats infrastructure, that counts time spent in a runqueue but not running. Steal time is a per-cpu information, so the traditional MSR-based infrastructure is used. A new msr, KVM_MSR_STEAL_TIME, holds the memory area address containing information about steal time This patch contains the hypervisor part of the steal time infrasructure, and can be backported independently of the guest portion. [avi, yongjie: export delayacct_on, to avoid build failures in some configs] Signed-off-by: Glauber Costa <glommer@redhat.com> Tested-by: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net> CC: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> CC: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com> CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> CC: Anthony Liguori <aliguori@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Yongjie Ren <yongjie.ren@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h9
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_para.h4
2 files changed, 13 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h
index da6bbee878ca..59086a77ff13 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_host.h
@@ -389,6 +389,15 @@ struct kvm_vcpu_arch {
unsigned int hw_tsc_khz;
unsigned int time_offset;
struct page *time_page;
+
+ struct {
+ u64 msr_val;
+ u64 last_steal;
+ u64 accum_steal;
+ struct gfn_to_hva_cache stime;
+ struct kvm_steal_time steal;
+ } st;
+
u64 last_guest_tsc;
u64 last_kernel_ns;
u64 last_tsc_nsec;
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_para.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_para.h
index 65f8bb9279e0..c484ba8e05ea 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_para.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/kvm_para.h
@@ -45,6 +45,10 @@ struct kvm_steal_time {
__u32 pad[12];
};
+#define KVM_STEAL_ALIGNMENT_BITS 5
+#define KVM_STEAL_VALID_BITS ((-1ULL << (KVM_STEAL_ALIGNMENT_BITS + 1)))
+#define KVM_STEAL_RESERVED_MASK (((1 << KVM_STEAL_ALIGNMENT_BITS) - 1 ) << 1)
+
#define KVM_MAX_MMU_OP_BATCH 32
#define KVM_ASYNC_PF_ENABLED (1 << 0)

Privacy Policy