aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/vmscan.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>2010-08-10 00:19:17 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-08-10 03:44:59 (GMT)
commita8a94d151521b248727c1f88756174e15260815a (patch)
tree81ea18e9c52f6260f9b52b16e592cc89bfd9d260 /mm/vmscan.c
parent33906bc5c87b50028364405ec425de9638afc719 (diff)
vmscan: tracing: add trace events for LRU page isolation
Add an event for when pages are isolated en-masse from the LRU lists. This event augments the information available on LRU traffic and can be used to evaluate lumpy reclaim. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Acked-by: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/vmscan.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmscan.c16
1 files changed, 16 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmscan.c b/mm/vmscan.c
index c99bc41..3d006d9 100644
--- a/mm/vmscan.c
+++ b/mm/vmscan.c
@@ -919,6 +919,9 @@ static unsigned long isolate_lru_pages(unsigned long nr_to_scan,
unsigned long *scanned, int order, int mode, int file)
{
unsigned long nr_taken = 0;
+ unsigned long nr_lumpy_taken = 0;
+ unsigned long nr_lumpy_dirty = 0;
+ unsigned long nr_lumpy_failed = 0;
unsigned long scan;
for (scan = 0; scan < nr_to_scan && !list_empty(src); scan++) {
@@ -996,12 +999,25 @@ static unsigned long isolate_lru_pages(unsigned long nr_to_scan,
list_move(&cursor_page->lru, dst);
mem_cgroup_del_lru(cursor_page);
nr_taken++;
+ nr_lumpy_taken++;
+ if (PageDirty(cursor_page))
+ nr_lumpy_dirty++;
scan++;
+ } else {
+ if (mode == ISOLATE_BOTH &&
+ page_count(cursor_page))
+ nr_lumpy_failed++;
}
}
}
*scanned = scan;
+
+ trace_mm_vmscan_lru_isolate(order,
+ nr_to_scan, scan,
+ nr_taken,
+ nr_lumpy_taken, nr_lumpy_dirty, nr_lumpy_failed,
+ mode);
return nr_taken;
}

Privacy Policy