aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/lib/xz
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2011-07-24XZ: Fix missing <linux/kernel.h> includeLasse Collin1-1/+1
<linux/kernel.h> is needed for min_t. The old version happened to work on x86 because <asm/unaligned.h> indirectly includes <linux/kernel.h>, but it didn't work on ARM. <linux/kernel.h> includes <asm/byteorder.h> so it's not necessary to include it explicitly anymore. Signed-off-by: Lasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org> Cc: stable <stable@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-05-02XZ decompressor: Fix decoding of empty LZMA2 streamsLasse Collin1-3/+3
The old code considered valid empty LZMA2 streams to be corrupt. Note that a typical empty .xz file has no LZMA2 data at all, and thus most .xz files having no uncompressed data are handled correctly even without this fix. Signed-off-by: Lasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-01-20kconfig: rename CONFIG_EMBEDDED to CONFIG_EXPERTDavid Rientjes1-6/+6
The meaning of CONFIG_EMBEDDED has long since been obsoleted; the option is used to configure any non-standard kernel with a much larger scope than only small devices. This patch renames the option to CONFIG_EXPERT in init/Kconfig and fixes references to the option throughout the kernel. A new CONFIG_EMBEDDED option is added that automatically selects CONFIG_EXPERT when enabled and can be used in the future to isolate options that should only be considered for embedded systems (RISC architectures, SLOB, etc). Calling the option "EXPERT" more accurately represents its intention: only expert users who understand the impact of the configuration changes they are making should enable it. Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Acked-by: David Woodhouse <david.woodhouse@intel.com> Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@suse.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-01-13decompressors: add XZ decompressor moduleLasse Collin11-0/+3344
In userspace, the .lzma format has become mostly a legacy file format that got superseded by the .xz format. Similarly, LZMA Utils was superseded by XZ Utils. These patches add support for XZ decompression into the kernel. Most of the code is as is from XZ Embedded <http://tukaani.org/xz/embedded.html>. It was written for the Linux kernel but is usable in other projects too. Advantages of XZ over the current LZMA code in the kernel: - Nice API that can be used by other kernel modules; it's not limited to kernel, initramfs, and initrd decompression. - Integrity check support (CRC32) - BCJ filters improve compression of executable code on certain architectures. These together with LZMA2 can produce a few percent smaller kernel or Squashfs images than plain LZMA without making the decompression slower. This patch: Add the main decompression code (xz_dec), testing module (xz_dec_test), wrapper script (xz_wrap.sh) for the xz command line tool, and documentation. The xz_dec module is enough to have a usable XZ decompressor e.g. for Squashfs. Signed-off-by: Lasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Alain Knaff <alain@knaff.lu> Cc: Albin Tonnerre <albin.tonnerre@free-electrons.com> Cc: Phillip Lougher <phillip@lougher.demon.co.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Privacy Policy