aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAlexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>2016-03-25 14:22:08 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2016-03-25 16:37:42 -0700
commitcd11016e5f5212c13c0cec7384a525edc93b4921 (patch)
tree31e2efd8d8eb6be398ccd0789bb9e865b299dc68 /arch
parentbe7635e7287e0e8013af3c89a6354a9e0182594c (diff)
mm, kasan: stackdepot implementation. Enable stackdepot for SLAB
Implement the stack depot and provide CONFIG_STACKDEPOT. Stack depot will allow KASAN store allocation/deallocation stack traces for memory chunks. The stack traces are stored in a hash table and referenced by handles which reside in the kasan_alloc_meta and kasan_free_meta structures in the allocated memory chunks. IRQ stack traces are cut below the IRQ entry point to avoid unnecessary duplication. Right now stackdepot support is only enabled in SLAB allocator. Once KASAN features in SLAB are on par with those in SLUB we can switch SLUB to stackdepot as well, thus removing the dependency on SLUB stack bookkeeping, which wastes a lot of memory. This patch is based on the "mm: kasan: stack depots" patch originally prepared by Dmitry Chernenkov. Joonsoo has said that he plans to reuse the stackdepot code for the mm/page_owner.c debugging facility. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/depot_stack_handle/depot_stack_handle_t] [aryabinin@virtuozzo.com: comment style fixes] Signed-off-by: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@gmail.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@google.com> Cc: Dmitry Chernenkov <dmitryc@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/Makefile1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/Makefile b/arch/x86/kernel/Makefile
index adaae2c781c1..616ebd22ef9a 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/Makefile
@@ -19,6 +19,7 @@ endif
KASAN_SANITIZE_head$(BITS).o := n
KASAN_SANITIZE_dumpstack.o := n
KASAN_SANITIZE_dumpstack_$(BITS).o := n
+KASAN_SANITIZE_stacktrace.o := n
OBJECT_FILES_NON_STANDARD_head_$(BITS).o := y
OBJECT_FILES_NON_STANDARD_relocate_kernel_$(BITS).o := y

Privacy Policy