aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/rapidio
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIoan Nicu <ioan.nicu.ext@nokia.com>2018-04-20 21:55:49 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-04-21 00:18:35 (GMT)
commitc5157b76869ba98c3a99a1982396437464e131a6 (patch)
treece99b92a5e52ca9a13f865899ae5646719351eaa /drivers/rapidio
parente71769ae52609ea0044a9901709042e5634c2306 (diff)
rapidio: fix rio_dma_transfer error handling
Some of the mport_dma_req structure members were initialized late inside the do_dma_request() function, just before submitting the request to the dma engine. But we have some error branches before that. In case of such an error, the code would return on the error path and trigger the calling of dma_req_free() with a req structure which is not completely initialized. This causes a NULL pointer dereference in dma_req_free(). This patch fixes these error branches by making sure that all necessary mport_dma_req structure members are initialized in rio_dma_transfer() immediately after the request structure gets allocated. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180412150605.GA31409@nokia.com Fixes: bbd876adb8c72 ("rapidio: use a reference count for struct mport_dma_req") Signed-off-by: Ioan Nicu <ioan.nicu.ext@nokia.com> Tested-by: Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@nokia.com> Acked-by: Alexandre Bounine <alex.bou9@gmail.com> Cc: Barry Wood <barry.wood@idt.com> Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Christophe JAILLET <christophe.jaillet@wanadoo.fr> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com> Cc: Frank Kunz <frank.kunz@nokia.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [4.6+] Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/rapidio')
-rw-r--r--drivers/rapidio/devices/rio_mport_cdev.c19
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/rapidio/devices/rio_mport_cdev.c b/drivers/rapidio/devices/rio_mport_cdev.c
index 9d27016c..0434ab7 100644
--- a/drivers/rapidio/devices/rio_mport_cdev.c
+++ b/drivers/rapidio/devices/rio_mport_cdev.c
@@ -740,10 +740,7 @@ static int do_dma_request(struct mport_dma_req *req,
tx->callback = dma_xfer_callback;
tx->callback_param = req;
- req->dmach = chan;
- req->sync = sync;
req->status = DMA_IN_PROGRESS;
- init_completion(&req->req_comp);
kref_get(&req->refcount);
cookie = dmaengine_submit(tx);
@@ -831,13 +828,20 @@ rio_dma_transfer(struct file *filp, u32 transfer_mode,
if (!req)
return -ENOMEM;
- kref_init(&req->refcount);
-
ret = get_dma_channel(priv);
if (ret) {
kfree(req);
return ret;
}
+ chan = priv->dmach;
+
+ kref_init(&req->refcount);
+ init_completion(&req->req_comp);
+ req->dir = dir;
+ req->filp = filp;
+ req->priv = priv;
+ req->dmach = chan;
+ req->sync = sync;
/*
* If parameter loc_addr != NULL, we are transferring data from/to
@@ -925,11 +929,6 @@ rio_dma_transfer(struct file *filp, u32 transfer_mode,
xfer->offset, xfer->length);
}
- req->dir = dir;
- req->filp = filp;
- req->priv = priv;
- chan = priv->dmach;
-
nents = dma_map_sg(chan->device->dev,
req->sgt.sgl, req->sgt.nents, dir);
if (nents == 0) {

Privacy Policy