aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/xen
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>2018-12-28 08:38:05 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-12-28 20:11:50 (GMT)
commit5d6527a784f7a6d247961e046e830de8d71b47d1 (patch)
tree9326a7abb7aab8983770840a4d52e07becb76c6d /drivers/xen
parentb15c87263a69272423771118c653e9a1d0672caa (diff)
mm/mmu_notifier: use structure for invalidate_range_start/end callback
Patch series "mmu notifier contextual informations", v2. This patchset adds contextual information, why an invalidation is happening, to mmu notifier callback. This is necessary for user of mmu notifier that wish to maintains their own data structure without having to add new fields to struct vm_area_struct (vma). For instance device can have they own page table that mirror the process address space. When a vma is unmap (munmap() syscall) the device driver can free the device page table for the range. Today we do not have any information on why a mmu notifier call back is happening and thus device driver have to assume that it is always an munmap(). This is inefficient at it means that it needs to re-allocate device page table on next page fault and rebuild the whole device driver data structure for the range. Other use case beside munmap() also exist, for instance it is pointless for device driver to invalidate the device page table when the invalidation is for the soft dirtyness tracking. Or device driver can optimize away mprotect() that change the page table permission access for the range. This patchset enables all this optimizations for device drivers. I do not include any of those in this series but another patchset I am posting will leverage this. The patchset is pretty simple from a code point of view. The first two patches consolidate all mmu notifier arguments into a struct so that it is easier to add/change arguments. The last patch adds the contextual information (munmap, protection, soft dirty, clear, ...). This patch (of 3): To avoid having to change many callback definition everytime we want to add a parameter use a structure to group all parameters for the mmu_notifier invalidate_range_start/end callback. No functional changes with this patch. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/amdgpu_mn.c kerneldoc] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181205053628.3210-2-jglisse@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Acked-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Acked-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com> [infiniband] Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com> Cc: Ross Zwisler <zwisler@kernel.org> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Cc: Radim Krcmar <rkrcmar@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Christian Koenig <christian.koenig@amd.com> Cc: Felix Kuehling <felix.kuehling@amd.com> Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/xen')
-rw-r--r--drivers/xen/gntdev.c12
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/xen/gntdev.c b/drivers/xen/gntdev.c
index b0b02a5..5efc5ee 100644
--- a/drivers/xen/gntdev.c
+++ b/drivers/xen/gntdev.c
@@ -520,26 +520,26 @@ static int unmap_if_in_range(struct gntdev_grant_map *map,
}
static int mn_invl_range_start(struct mmu_notifier *mn,
- struct mm_struct *mm,
- unsigned long start, unsigned long end,
- bool blockable)
+ const struct mmu_notifier_range *range)
{
struct gntdev_priv *priv = container_of(mn, struct gntdev_priv, mn);
struct gntdev_grant_map *map;
int ret = 0;
- if (blockable)
+ if (range->blockable)
mutex_lock(&priv->lock);
else if (!mutex_trylock(&priv->lock))
return -EAGAIN;
list_for_each_entry(map, &priv->maps, next) {
- ret = unmap_if_in_range(map, start, end, blockable);
+ ret = unmap_if_in_range(map, range->start, range->end,
+ range->blockable);
if (ret)
goto out_unlock;
}
list_for_each_entry(map, &priv->freeable_maps, next) {
- ret = unmap_if_in_range(map, start, end, blockable);
+ ret = unmap_if_in_range(map, range->start, range->end,
+ range->blockable);
if (ret)
goto out_unlock;
}

Privacy Policy