aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authormike.travis@hpe.com <mike.travis@hpe.com>2018-05-24 15:17:12 -0500
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-06-21 16:14:45 +0200
commitf642fb5864a6e3645edce6f85ffe7b44d5e9b990 (patch)
tree19a7f8246d6272e218d9c4565f273666ba6cd3d2 /include
parentd6605b6bbee88b74150b14f5e83a6067f5e323d2 (diff)
x86/platform/UV: Add adjustable set memory block size function
Add a new function to "adjust" the current fixed UV memory block size of 2GB so it can be changed to a different physical boundary. This is out of necessity so arch dependent code can accommodate specific BIOS requirements which can align these new PMEM modules at less than the default boundaries. A "set order" type of function was used to insure that the memory block size will be a power of two value without requiring a validity check. 64GB was chosen as the upper limit for memory block size values to accommodate upcoming 4PB systems which have 6 more bits of physical address space (46 becoming 52). Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <mike.travis@hpe.com> Reviewed-by: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Dimitri Sivanich <dimitri.sivanich@hpe.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Russ Anderson <russ.anderson@hpe.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: dan.j.williams@intel.com Cc: jgross@suse.com Cc: kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com Cc: mhocko@suse.com Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/lkml/20180524201711.609546602@stormcage.americas.sgi.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/memory.h1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/memory.h b/include/linux/memory.h
index 31ca3e28b0eb..a6ddefc60517 100644
--- a/include/linux/memory.h
+++ b/include/linux/memory.h
@@ -38,6 +38,7 @@ struct memory_block {
int arch_get_memory_phys_device(unsigned long start_pfn);
unsigned long memory_block_size_bytes(void);
+int set_memory_block_size_order(unsigned int order);
/* These states are exposed to userspace as text strings in sysfs */
#define MEM_ONLINE (1<<0) /* exposed to userspace */

Privacy Policy