aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com>2018-08-17 15:47:21 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-17 16:20:30 -0700
commite0295238e50f1aa16d4c902c837fd8d17861b698 (patch)
treef728f80f6d51d5be0992d1c1281388758c414d6e /init
parenta36aab890c2166744e6299dc55ef2c38cb6616c0 (diff)
mm/list_lru.c: combine code under the same define
Patch series "Improve shrink_slab() scalability (old complexity was O(n^2), new is O(n))", v8. This patcheset solves the problem with slow shrink_slab() occuring on the machines having many shrinkers and memory cgroups (i.e., with many containers). The problem is complexity of shrink_slab() is O(n^2) and it grows too fast with the growth of containers numbers. Let us have 200 containers, and every container has 10 mounts and 10 cgroups. All container tasks are isolated, and they don't touch foreign containers mounts. In case of global reclaim, a task has to iterate all over the memcgs and to call all the memcg-aware shrinkers for all of them. This means, the task has to visit 200 * 10 = 2000 shrinkers for every memcg, and since there are 2000 memcgs, the total calls of do_shrink_slab() are 2000 * 2000 = 4000000. 4 million calls are not a number operations, which can takes 1 cpu cycle. E.g., super_cache_count() accesses at least two lists, and makes arifmetical calculations. Even, if there are no charged objects, we do these calculations, and replaces cpu caches by read memory. I observed nodes spending almost 100% time in kernel, in case of intensive writing and global reclaim. The writer consumes pages fast, but it's need to shrink_slab() before the reclaimer reached shrink pages function (and frees SWAP_CLUSTER_MAX pages). Even if there is no writing, the iterations just waste the time, and slows reclaim down. Let's see the small test below: $echo 1 > /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/memory.use_hierarchy $mkdir /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/ct $echo 4000M > /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/ct/memory.kmem.limit_in_bytes $for i in `seq 0 4000`; do mkdir /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/ct/$i; echo $$ > /sys/fs/cgroup/memory/ct/$i/cgroup.procs; mkdir -p s/$i; mount -t tmpfs $i s/$i; touch s/$i/file; done Then, let's see drop caches time (5 sequential calls): $time echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches 0.00user 13.78system 0:13.78elapsed 99%CPU 0.00user 5.59system 0:05.60elapsed 99%CPU 0.00user 5.48system 0:05.48elapsed 99%CPU 0.00user 8.35system 0:08.35elapsed 99%CPU 0.00user 8.34system 0:08.35elapsed 99%CPU The last four calls don't actually shrink anything. So, the iterations over slab shrinkers take 5.48 seconds. Not so good for scalability. The patchset solves the problem by making shrink_slab() of O(n) complexity. There are following functional actions: 1) Assign id to every registered memcg-aware shrinker. 2) Maintain per-memcgroup bitmap of memcg-aware shrinkers, and set a shrinker-related bit after the first element is added to lru list (also, when removed child memcg elements are reparanted). 3) Split memcg-aware shrinkers and !memcg-aware shrinkers, and call a shrinker if its bit is set in memcg's shrinker bitmap. (Also, there is a functionality to clear the bit, after last element is shrinked). This gives significant performance increase. The result after patchset is applied: $time echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches 0.00user 1.10system 0:01.10elapsed 99%CPU 0.00user 0.00system 0:00.01elapsed 64%CPU 0.00user 0.01system 0:00.01elapsed 82%CPU 0.00user 0.00system 0:00.01elapsed 64%CPU 0.00user 0.01system 0:00.01elapsed 82%CPU The results show the performance increases at least in 548 times. So, the patchset makes shrink_slab() of less complexity and improves the performance in such types of load I pointed. This will give a profit in case of !global reclaim case, since there also will be less do_shrink_slab() calls. This patch (of 17): These two pairs of blocks of code are under the same #ifdef #else #endif. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/153063052519.1818.9393587113056959488.stgit@localhost.localdomain Signed-off-by: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@virtuozzo.com> Acked-by: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com> Tested-by: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com> Cc: Sahitya Tummala <stummala@codeaurora.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com> Cc: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Josef Bacik <jbacik@fb.com> Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Li RongQing <lirongqing@baidu.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy