aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNamhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>2017-05-24 15:21:29 +0900
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-05-24 08:41:49 +0200
commit7111ffff60a68f55d864200cd6c7677319e5c242 (patch)
tree1860303e387f334e6d4033c40a71194ab33e4daf /tools/perf
parent4d53b9d546f9f4505e6e3d58c8eed894d6f684e7 (diff)
perf tools: Put caller above callee in --children mode
The __hpp__sort_acc() sorts entries using callchain depth in order to put callers above in children mode. But it assumed the callchain order was callee-first. Now default (for children) is caller-first so the order of entries is reverted. For example, consider following case: $ perf report --no-children ..l # Overhead Command Shared Object Symbol # ........ ....... ................... .......................... # 99.44% a.out a.out [.] main | ---main __libc_start_main _start Then children mode should show 'start' above '__libc_start_main' since it's the caller (parent) of the __libc_start_main. But it's reversed: # Children Self Command Shared Object Symbol # ........ ........ ....... ............... ..................... # 99.61% 0.00% a.out libc-2.25.so [.] __libc_start_main 99.61% 0.00% a.out a.out [.] _start 99.54% 99.44% a.out a.out [.] main This patch fixes it. # Children Self Command Shared Object Symbol # ........ ........ ....... ............... ..................... # 99.61% 0.00% a.out a.out [.] _start 99.61% 0.00% a.out libc-2.25.so [.] __libc_start_main 99.54% 99.44% a.out a.out [.] main Signed-off-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Yao Jin <yao.jin@linux.intel.com> Cc: kernel-team@lge.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170524062129.32529-8-namhyung@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/ui/hist.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/ui/hist.c b/tools/perf/ui/hist.c
index 59addd52d9cd..ddb2c6fbdf91 100644
--- a/tools/perf/ui/hist.c
+++ b/tools/perf/ui/hist.c
@@ -210,6 +210,8 @@ static int __hpp__sort_acc(struct hist_entry *a, struct hist_entry *b,
return 0;
ret = b->callchain->max_depth - a->callchain->max_depth;
+ if (callchain_param.order == ORDER_CALLER)
+ ret = -ret;
}
return ret;
}

Privacy Policy