aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2018-10-16 13:48:18 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2018-10-16 12:27:46 -0300
commitc458a6206d2a8600934617ccf88ba7d3a030faba (patch)
tree29da2b92a54539667495e707d1e305c7fc1f9af4 /tools
parent36b8d4628d3cc8f5a748e508cce8673bc00fc63c (diff)
perf tools: Fix tracing_path_mount proper path
If there's no tracefs (RHEL7) support the tracing_path_mount returns debugfs path which results in following fail: # perf probe sys_write kprobe_events file does not exist - please rebuild kernel with CONFIG_KPROBE_EVENTS. Error: Failed to add events. In tracing_path_debugfs_mount function we need to return the 'tracing' path instead of just the mount to make it work: # perf probe sys_write Added new event: probe:sys_write (on sys_write) You can now use it in all perf tools, such as: perf record -e probe:sys_write -aR sleep 1 Adding the 'return tracing_path;' also to tracing_path_tracefs_mount function just for consistency with tracing_path_debugfs_mount. Upstream keeps working, because it has the tracefs support. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-yiwkzexq9fk1ey1xg3gnjlw4@git.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Fixes: 23773ca18b39 ("perf tools: Make perf aware of tracefs") Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181016114818.3595-1-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools')
-rw-r--r--tools/lib/api/fs/tracing_path.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/lib/api/fs/tracing_path.c b/tools/lib/api/fs/tracing_path.c
index 120037496f77..5afb11b30fca 100644
--- a/tools/lib/api/fs/tracing_path.c
+++ b/tools/lib/api/fs/tracing_path.c
@@ -36,7 +36,7 @@ static const char *tracing_path_tracefs_mount(void)
__tracing_path_set("", mnt);
- return mnt;
+ return tracing_path;
}
static const char *tracing_path_debugfs_mount(void)
@@ -49,7 +49,7 @@ static const char *tracing_path_debugfs_mount(void)
__tracing_path_set("tracing/", mnt);
- return mnt;
+ return tracing_path;
}
const char *tracing_path_mount(void)

Privacy Policy