aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/um/sys-i386/shared
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2011-09-14um: Save FPU registers between task switchesIngo van Lil1-0/+1
Some time ago Jeff prepared 42daba316557 ("uml: stop saving process FP state") for UML to stop saving the process FP state between task switches. The assumption was that since with SKAS0 every guest process runs inside a host process context the host OS will take care of keeping the proper FP state. Unfortunately this is not true for multi-threaded applications, where all guest threads share a single host process context yet all may use the FPU on their own. Although I haven't verified it I suspect things to be even worse in SKAS3 mode where all guest processes run inside a single host process. The patch reintroduces the saving and restoring of the FP context between task switches. [richard@nod.at: Ingo posted this patch in 2009, sadly it was never applied and got lost. Now in 2011 the problem was reported by Gunnar.] Signed-off-by: Ingo van Lil <inguin@gmx.de> Signed-off-by: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Reported-by: <gunnarlindroth@hotmail.com> Tested-by: <gunnarlindroth@hotmail.com> Cc: Stanislav Meduna <stano@meduna.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-03-12Add generic sys_old_mmap()Christoph Hellwig1-2/+0
Add a generic implementation of the old mmap() syscall, which expects its argument in a memory block and switch all architectures over to use it. Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Reviewed-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> Acked-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Acked-by: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2009-12-11Unify sys_mmap*Al Viro1-4/+0
New helper - sys_mmap_pgoff(); switch syscalls to using it. Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
2009-04-01uml: remove useless commentsWANG Cong1-10/+0
These comments are useless now, remove them. Signed-off-by: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-10-22x86, um: get rid of excessive includes of uml-config.hAl Viro2-2/+0
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
2008-10-22x86, um: get rid of header symlinksAl Viro16-0/+945
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>

Privacy Policy