aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/ipc/ipc_sysctl.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2008-02-08namespaces: move the IPC namespace under IPC_NS optionPavel Emelyanov1-0/+1
Currently the IPC namespace management code is spread over the ipc/*.c files. I moved this code into ipc/namespace.c file which is compiled out when needed. The linux/ipc_namespace.h file is used to store the prototypes of the functions in namespace.c and the stubs for NAMESPACES=n case. This is done so, because the stub for copy_ipc_namespace requires the knowledge of the CLONE_NEWIPC flag, which is in sched.h. But the linux/ipc.h file itself in included into many many .c files via the sys.h->sem.h sequence so adding the sched.h into it will make all these .c depend on sched.h which is not that good. On the other hand the knowledge about the namespaces stuff is required in 4 .c files only. Besides, this patch compiles out some auxiliary functions from ipc/sem.c, msg.c and shm.c files. It turned out that moving these functions into namespaces.c is not that easy because they use many other calls and macros from the original file. Moving them would make this patch complicated. On the other hand all these functions can be consolidated, so I will send a separate patch doing this a bit later. Signed-off-by: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Acked-by: Serge Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com> Cc: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru> Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-17ipc namespace: remove config ipc ns fixCedric Le Goater1-4/+0
Finish the work : kill all #ifdef CONFIG_IPC_NS. Thanks Robert ! Signed-off-by: Cedric Le Goater <clg@fr.ibm.com> Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmision.com> Cc: Robert P. J. Day <rpjday@mindspring.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-02-14[PATCH] sysctl: remove insert_at_head from register_sysctlEric W. Biederman1-1/+1
The semantic effect of insert_at_head is that it would allow new registered sysctl entries to override existing sysctl entries of the same name. Which is pain for caching and the proc interface never implemented. I have done an audit and discovered that none of the current users of register_sysctl care as (excpet for directories) they do not register duplicate sysctl entries. So this patch simply removes the support for overriding existing entries in the sys_sysctl interface since no one uses it or cares and it makes future enhancments harder. Signed-off-by: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Acked-by: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Corey Minyard <minyard@acm.org> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@ucw.cz> Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no> Cc: Mark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com> Cc: David Chinner <dgc@sgi.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-02-14[PATCH] sysctl: move SYSV IPC sysctls to their own fileEric W. Biederman1-0/+183
This is just a simple cleanup to keep kernel/sysctl.c from getting to crowded with special cases, and by keeping all of the ipc logic to together it makes the code a little more readable. [gcoady.lk@gmail.com: build fix] Signed-off-by: Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Serge E. Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com> Cc: Herbert Poetzl <herbert@13thfloor.at> Cc: Kirill Korotaev <dev@sw.ru> Signed-off-by: Grant Coady <gcoady.lk@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Privacy Policy