aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/fs
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorVladimir Davydov <vdavydov@parallels.com>2015-09-09 15:35:48 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-09-10 13:29:01 -0700
commitf074a8f49eb87cde95ac9d040ad5e7ea4f029738 (patch)
treec78d0a5386ee6d9db9de32c733df404e783088d5 /fs
parent33c3fc71c8cfa3cc3a98beaa901c069c177dc295 (diff)
proc: export idle flag via kpageflags
As noted by Minchan, a benefit of reading idle flag from /proc/kpageflags is that one can easily filter dirty and/or unevictable pages while estimating the size of unused memory. Note that idle flag read from /proc/kpageflags may be stale in case the page was accessed via a PTE, because it would be too costly to iterate over all page mappings on each /proc/kpageflags read to provide an up-to-date value. To make sure the flag is up-to-date one has to read /sys/kernel/mm/page_idle/bitmap first. Signed-off-by: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@parallels.com> Reviewed-by: Andres Lagar-Cavilla <andreslc@google.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Raghavendra K T <raghavendra.kt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@parallels.com> Cc: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'fs')
-rw-r--r--fs/proc/page.c3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/fs/proc/page.c b/fs/proc/page.c
index c2d29edcaa6b..0b8286450a93 100644
--- a/fs/proc/page.c
+++ b/fs/proc/page.c
@@ -150,6 +150,9 @@ u64 stable_page_flags(struct page *page)
if (PageBalloon(page))
u |= 1 << KPF_BALLOON;
+ if (page_is_idle(page))
+ u |= 1 << KPF_IDLE;
+
u |= kpf_copy_bit(k, KPF_LOCKED, PG_locked);
u |= kpf_copy_bit(k, KPF_SLAB, PG_slab);

Privacy Policy