aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/cpu.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill Tkhai <ktkhai@parallels.com>2014-06-25 12:19:55 +0400
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2014-07-05 11:17:45 +0200
commitb728ca06029d085a1585c1926610f26de93b9146 (patch)
tree3fd55fef326f355af0a61785ff92c6f11aa5b2e5 /kernel/cpu.c
parent99b625670f1447ecf0739161efbe7f2f43c0e0b6 (diff)
sched: Rework check_for_tasks()
1) Iterate thru all of threads in the system. Check for all threads, not only for group leaders. 2) Check for p->on_rq instead of p->state and cputime. Preempted task in !TASK_RUNNING state OR just created task may be queued, that we want to be reported too. 3) Use read_lock() instead of write_lock(). This function does not change any structures, and read_lock() is enough. Signed-off-by: Kirill Tkhai <ktkhai@parallels.com> Reviewed-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com> Cc: Fabian Frederick <fabf@skynet.be> Cc: Gautham R. Shenoy <ego@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Konstantin Khorenko <khorenko@parallels.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michael wang <wangyun@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <umgwanakikbuti@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Srivatsa S. Bhat <srivatsa.bhat@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Todd E Brandt <todd.e.brandt@linux.intel.com> Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1403684395.3462.44.camel@tkhai Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/cpu.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/cpu.c33
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 13 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/cpu.c b/kernel/cpu.c
index a343bde710b1..81e2a388a0f6 100644
--- a/kernel/cpu.c
+++ b/kernel/cpu.c
@@ -274,21 +274,28 @@ void clear_tasks_mm_cpumask(int cpu)
rcu_read_unlock();
}
-static inline void check_for_tasks(int cpu)
+static inline void check_for_tasks(int dead_cpu)
{
- struct task_struct *p;
- cputime_t utime, stime;
+ struct task_struct *g, *p;
- write_lock_irq(&tasklist_lock);
- for_each_process(p) {
- task_cputime(p, &utime, &stime);
- if (task_cpu(p) == cpu && p->state == TASK_RUNNING &&
- (utime || stime))
- pr_warn("Task %s (pid = %d) is on cpu %d (state = %ld, flags = %x)\n",
- p->comm, task_pid_nr(p), cpu,
- p->state, p->flags);
- }
- write_unlock_irq(&tasklist_lock);
+ read_lock_irq(&tasklist_lock);
+ do_each_thread(g, p) {
+ if (!p->on_rq)
+ continue;
+ /*
+ * We do the check with unlocked task_rq(p)->lock.
+ * Order the reading to do not warn about a task,
+ * which was running on this cpu in the past, and
+ * it's just been woken on another cpu.
+ */
+ rmb();
+ if (task_cpu(p) != dead_cpu)
+ continue;
+
+ pr_warn("Task %s (pid=%d) is on cpu %d (state=%ld, flags=%x)\n",
+ p->comm, task_pid_nr(p), dead_cpu, p->state, p->flags);
+ } while_each_thread(g, p);
+ read_unlock_irq(&tasklist_lock);
}
struct take_cpu_down_param {

Privacy Policy