aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/net/8021q
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohn Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>2013-10-07 15:51:58 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2013-11-06 12:40:25 +0100
commit827da44c61419f29ae3be198c342e2147f1a10cb (patch)
tree54cff222bd9ec230df4c92908d41efba7cc9c928 /net/8021q
parent32cf7c3c94623514eb882addae307212c1507239 (diff)
net: Explicitly initialize u64_stats_sync structures for lockdep
In order to enable lockdep on seqcount/seqlock structures, we must explicitly initialize any locks. The u64_stats_sync structure, uses a seqcount, and thus we need to introduce a u64_stats_init() function and use it to initialize the structure. This unfortunately adds a lot of fairly trivial initialization code to a number of drivers. But the benefit of ensuring correctness makes this worth while. Because these changes are required for lockdep to be enabled, and the changes are quite trivial, I've not yet split this patch out into 30-some separate patches, as I figured it would be better to get the various maintainers thoughts on how to best merge this change along with the seqcount lockdep enablement. Feedback would be appreciated! Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Acked-by: Julian Anastasov <ja@ssi.bg> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> Cc: Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Jesse Gross <jesse@nicira.com> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com> Cc: Mirko Lindner <mlindner@marvell.com> Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net> Cc: Roger Luethi <rl@hellgate.ch> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Simon Horman <horms@verge.net.au> Cc: Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@free-electrons.com> Cc: Wensong Zhang <wensong@linux-vs.org> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1381186321-4906-2-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'net/8021q')
-rw-r--r--net/8021q/vlan_dev.c9
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/net/8021q/vlan_dev.c b/net/8021q/vlan_dev.c
index 09bf1c38805b..4deff3ed1da1 100644
--- a/net/8021q/vlan_dev.c
+++ b/net/8021q/vlan_dev.c
@@ -558,7 +558,7 @@ static const struct net_device_ops vlan_netdev_ops;
static int vlan_dev_init(struct net_device *dev)
{
struct net_device *real_dev = vlan_dev_priv(dev)->real_dev;
- int subclass = 0;
+ int subclass = 0, i;
netif_carrier_off(dev);
@@ -612,6 +612,13 @@ static int vlan_dev_init(struct net_device *dev)
if (!vlan_dev_priv(dev)->vlan_pcpu_stats)
return -ENOMEM;
+ for_each_possible_cpu(i) {
+ struct vlan_pcpu_stats *vlan_stat;
+ vlan_stat = per_cpu_ptr(vlan_dev_priv(dev)->vlan_pcpu_stats, i);
+ u64_stats_init(&vlan_stat->syncp);
+ }
+
+
return 0;
}

Privacy Policy