aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/perf/util/intel-pt-decoder/Build
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorStephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>2015-08-31 18:41:12 +0200
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2015-08-31 18:01:33 -0300
commitbcc84ec65ad1bd9f777a1fade6f8e5e0c5808fa5 (patch)
treef824e46632026abbbe0f76f109e86b2c09bec18f /tools/perf/util/intel-pt-decoder/Build
parentc5e991ee9dff0f8136168ed2d0d1a8cc3620dac4 (diff)
perf record: Add ability to name registers to record
This patch modifies the -I/--int-regs option to enablepassing the name of the registers to sample on interrupt. Registers can be specified by their symbolic names. For instance on x86, --intr-regs=ax,si. The motivation is to reduce the size of the perf.data file and the overhead of sampling by only collecting the registers useful to a specific analysis. For instance, for value profiling, sampling only the registers used to passed arguements to functions. With no parameter, the --intr-regs still records all possible registers based on the architecture. To name registers, it is necessary to use the long form of the option, i.e., --intr-regs: $ perf record --intr-regs=si,di,r8,r9 ..... To record any possible registers: $ perf record -I ..... $ perf report --intr-regs ... To display the register, one can use perf report -D To list the available registers: $ perf record --intr-regs=\? available registers: AX BX CX DX SI DI BP SP IP FLAGS CS SS R8 R9 R10 R11 R12 R13 R14 R15 Signed-off-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1441039273-16260-4-git-send-email-eranian@google.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/util/intel-pt-decoder/Build')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy