aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMasami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>2014-01-23 02:29:50 +0000
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2014-01-23 15:48:12 -0300
commit4afc81cd1caa93daa50c1c29a3ab747c978abc13 (patch)
tree76a86f597ad07e908d1d6470d7501ecfacbac4f2
parentb935a58dbff457c27fd63e1e1bb29db20b2ee6a8 (diff)
perf symbols: Load map before using map->map_ip()
In map_groups__find_symbol() map->map_ip is used without ensuring the map is loaded. Then the address passed to map->map_ip isn't mapped at the first time. E.g. below code always fails to get a symbol at the first call; addr = /* Somewhere in the kernel text */ symbol_conf.try_vmlinux_path = true; symbol__init(); host_machine = machine__new_host(); sym = machine__find_kernel_function(host_machine, addr, NULL, NULL); /* Note that machine__find_kernel_function calls map_groups__find_symbol */ This ensures it by calling map__load before using it in map_groups__find_symbol(). Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com> Cc: "David A. Long" <dave.long@linaro.org> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: "Steven Rostedt (Red Hat)" <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: yrl.pp-manager.tt@hitachi.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20140123022950.7206.17357.stgit@kbuild-fedora.yrl.intra.hitachi.co.jp Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/map.c3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/map.c b/tools/perf/util/map.c
index ee1dd687a262..3b97513f0e77 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/map.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/map.c
@@ -386,7 +386,8 @@ struct symbol *map_groups__find_symbol(struct map_groups *mg,
{
struct map *map = map_groups__find(mg, type, addr);
- if (map != NULL) {
+ /* Ensure map is loaded before using map->map_ip */
+ if (map != NULL && map__load(map, filter) >= 0) {
if (mapp != NULL)
*mapp = map;
return map__find_symbol(map, map->map_ip(map, addr), filter);

Privacy Policy