aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/powerpc/perf
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2013-03-06 05:48:26 (GMT)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2013-03-13 20:01:04 (GMT)
commit3bf7b07ece6e00747602938f68c1db8001b9925f (patch)
tree6a1c002c8e92eb9cd609dd8198a02976862b770c /arch/powerpc/perf
parent79146a69c8bc3f28e51c5267633abc6babf47a31 (diff)
perf/POWER7: Create a sysfs format entry for Power7 events
Create a sysfs entry, '/sys/bus/event_source/devices/cpu/format/event' which describes the format of the POWER7 PMU events. This code is based on corresponding code in x86. Changelog[v4]: [Michael Ellerman, Paul Mckerras] The event format is different for other POWER cpus. So move the code to POWER7-specific, power7-pmu.c Also, the POWER7 format uses bits 0-19 not 0-20. Changelog[v2]: [Jiri Osla] Use PMU_FORMAT_ATTR rather than duplicating code. Signed-off-by: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Tested-by: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: benh@kernel.crashing.org Cc: linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20130306054826.GA14627@us.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc/perf')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/perf/power7-pmu.c13
1 files changed, 13 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/perf/power7-pmu.c b/arch/powerpc/perf/power7-pmu.c
index b554879..3c475d6 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/perf/power7-pmu.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/perf/power7-pmu.c
@@ -420,7 +420,20 @@ static struct attribute_group power7_pmu_events_group = {
.attrs = power7_events_attr,
};
+PMU_FORMAT_ATTR(event, "config:0-19");
+
+static struct attribute *power7_pmu_format_attr[] = {
+ &format_attr_event.attr,
+ NULL,
+};
+
+struct attribute_group power7_pmu_format_group = {
+ .name = "format",
+ .attrs = power7_pmu_format_attr,
+};
+
static const struct attribute_group *power7_pmu_attr_groups[] = {
+ &power7_pmu_format_group,
&power7_pmu_events_group,
NULL,
};

Privacy Policy