aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/configs
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJosh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>2012-09-03 05:21:21 (GMT)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2012-09-05 08:43:11 (GMT)
commitbe2f328d8616c81b86e4013974608776c317bbeb (patch)
tree4de3b21ba3ad5204382952da56108a83b86b501a /arch/x86/configs
parentb92f885f31db782608c8b73942111238020b1f4a (diff)
x86/Kconfig: Turn off CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM
The vast majority of systems either use initramfs or mount a root filesystem directly from the kernel. Distros have defaulted to initramfs for years. Only highly specialized systems would use an actual filesystem-image initrd at this point, and such systems don't rely on defconfig anyway. Drop initrd support (and specifically RAM block device support) from the defconfigs. Signed-off-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Cc: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/2521e983a63595cd7a331236d929577660f89c72.1346649518.git.josh@joshtriplett.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/configs')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig2
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig2
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig b/arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig
index d833bb6..a6533a2 100644
--- a/arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/configs/i386_defconfig
@@ -144,8 +144,6 @@ CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH="/sbin/hotplug"
CONFIG_DEBUG_DEVRES=y
CONFIG_CONNECTOR=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=y
-CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM=y
-CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_SIZE=16384
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SD=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR_VENDOR=y
diff --git a/arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig b/arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig
index 7ddcd99..18f3cc4 100644
--- a/arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/configs/x86_64_defconfig
@@ -144,8 +144,6 @@ CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH="/sbin/hotplug"
CONFIG_DEBUG_DEVRES=y
CONFIG_CONNECTOR=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_LOOP=y
-CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM=y
-CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RAM_SIZE=16384
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SD=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR=y
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SR_VENDOR=y

Privacy Policy