aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSuresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com>2012-05-16 22:03:51 (GMT)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>2012-05-16 22:16:26 (GMT)
commit55ccf3fe3f9a3441731aa79cf42a628fc4ecace9 (patch)
treefc1baa880f32e9da083998bda8aefc335846fd52 /arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
parent36be50515fe2aef61533b516fa2576a2c7fe7664 (diff)
fork: move the real prepare_to_copy() users to arch_dup_task_struct()
Historical prepare_to_copy() is mostly a no-op, duplicated for majority of the architectures and the rest following the x86 model of flushing the extended register state like fpu there. Remove it and use the arch_dup_task_struct() instead. Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Suresh Siddha <suresh.b.siddha@intel.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1336692811-30576-1-git-send-email-suresh.b.siddha@intel.com Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: James E.J. Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@linux.intel.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c9
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
index 43d8b48..c4c0645 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
@@ -145,15 +145,6 @@ static inline u32 read_32bit_tls(struct task_struct *t, int tls)
return get_desc_base(&t->thread.tls_array[tls]);
}
-/*
- * This gets called before we allocate a new thread and copy
- * the current task into it.
- */
-void prepare_to_copy(struct task_struct *tsk)
-{
- unlazy_fpu(tsk);
-}
-
int copy_thread(unsigned long clone_flags, unsigned long sp,
unsigned long unused,
struct task_struct *p, struct pt_regs *regs)

Privacy Policy