aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>2013-11-14 22:31:13 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-11-15 00:32:15 (GMT)
commit09ef4939850aa81e3822b5dfb9ba2ada5e565816 (patch)
tree353dfb20ae393be66e1bc6ebc44b14a81a597cd2 /arch/x86/mm
parent9491846fca57e9326b6673716c386b76fc13ebca (diff)
x86: add missed pgtable_pmd_page_ctor/dtor calls for preallocated pmds
In split page table lock case, we embed spinlock_t into struct page. For obvious reason, we don't want to increase size of struct page if spinlock_t is too big, like with DEBUG_SPINLOCK or DEBUG_LOCK_ALLOC or on -rt kernel. So we disable split page table lock, if spinlock_t is too big. This patchset allows to allocate the lock dynamically if spinlock_t is big. In this page->ptl is used to store pointer to spinlock instead of spinlock itself. It costs additional cache line for indirect access, but fix page fault scalability for multi-threaded applications. LOCK_STAT depends on DEBUG_SPINLOCK, so on current kernel enabling LOCK_STAT to analyse scalability issues breaks scalability. ;) The patchset mostly fixes this. Results for ./thp_memscale -c 80 -b 512M on 4-socket machine: baseline, no CONFIG_LOCK_STAT: 9.115460703 seconds time elapsed baseline, CONFIG_LOCK_STAT=y: 53.890567123 seconds time elapsed patched, no CONFIG_LOCK_STAT: 8.852250368 seconds time elapsed patched, CONFIG_LOCK_STAT=y: 11.069770759 seconds time elapsed Patch count is scary, but most of them trivial. Overview: Patches 1-4 Few bug fixes. No dependencies to other patches. Probably should applied as soon as possible. Patch 5 Changes signature of pgtable_page_ctor(). We will use it for dynamic lock allocation, so it can fail. Patches 6-8 Add missing constructor/destructor calls on few archs. It's fixes NR_PAGETABLE accounting and prepare to use split ptl. Patches 9-33 Add pgtable_page_ctor() fail handling to all archs. Patches 34 Finally adds support of dynamically-allocated page->pte. Also contains documentation for split page table lock. This patch (of 34): I've missed that we preallocate few pmds on pgd_alloc() if X86_PAE enabled. Let's add missed constructor/destructor calls. I haven't noticed it during testing since prep_new_page() clears page->mapping and therefore page->ptl. It's effectively equal to spin_lock_init(&page->ptl). Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/pgtable.c11
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/pgtable.c b/arch/x86/mm/pgtable.c
index dfa537a..1a7d213 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/pgtable.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/pgtable.c
@@ -189,8 +189,10 @@ static void free_pmds(pmd_t *pmds[])
int i;
for(i = 0; i < PREALLOCATED_PMDS; i++)
- if (pmds[i])
+ if (pmds[i]) {
+ pgtable_pmd_page_dtor(virt_to_page(pmds[i]));
free_page((unsigned long)pmds[i]);
+ }
}
static int preallocate_pmds(pmd_t *pmds[])
@@ -200,8 +202,13 @@ static int preallocate_pmds(pmd_t *pmds[])
for(i = 0; i < PREALLOCATED_PMDS; i++) {
pmd_t *pmd = (pmd_t *)__get_free_page(PGALLOC_GFP);
- if (pmd == NULL)
+ if (!pmd)
+ failed = true;
+ if (pmd && !pgtable_pmd_page_ctor(virt_to_page(pmd))) {
+ free_page((unsigned long)pmds[i]);
+ pmd = NULL;
failed = true;
+ }
pmds[i] = pmd;
}

Privacy Policy