aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/trace
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2014-01-22 12:59:18 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2014-01-23 14:48:36 +0100
commitd375b4e0fa3771343b370be0d876a1963c02e0a0 (patch)
tree21a015cf741235bb4a74d4ecae0e3d0b1cd4c32a /include/trace
parent215393bc1fab3d61a5a296838bdffce22f27ffda (diff)
sched/clock: Fixup early initialization
The code would assume sched_clock_stable() and switch to !stable later, this switch brings a discontinuity in time. The discontinuity on switching from stable to unstable was always present, but previously we would set stable/unstable before initializing TSC and usually stick to the one we start out with. So the static_key bits brought an extra switch where there previously wasn't one. Things are further complicated by the fact that we cannot use static_key as early as we usually call set_sched_clock_stable(). Fix things by tracking the stable state in a regular variable and only set the static_key to the right state on sched_clock_init(), which is ran right after late_time_init->tsc_init(). Before this we would not be using the TSC anyway. Reported-and-Tested-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Reported-by: dyoung@redhat.com Fixes: 35af99e646c7 ("sched/clock, x86: Use a static_key for sched_clock_stable") Cc: jacob.jun.pan@linux.intel.com Cc: Mike Galbraith <bitbucket@online.de> Cc: hpa@zytor.com Cc: paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: lenb@kernel.org Cc: rjw@rjwysocki.net Cc: Eliezer Tamir <eliezer.tamir@linux.intel.com> Cc: rui.zhang@intel.com Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20140122115918.GG3694@twins.programming.kicks-ass.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/trace')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy