aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/video/fbmem.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAnton Vorontsov <avorontsov@ru.mvista.com>2008-04-28 09:14:49 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-04-28 15:58:35 (GMT)
commite4c690e061b909127ab0f12e929f82f3f39ec953 (patch)
treeb798bbda541f615cd4830cad96ed3f58db1fd19c /drivers/video/fbmem.c
parent6b745b6fd02213f4b2fef2f2635985929fc5b8cc (diff)
fb: add support for foreign endianness
Add support for the framebuffers with non-native endianness. This is done via FBINFO_FOREIGN_ENDIAN flag that will be used by the drivers. Depending on the host endianness this flag will be overwritten by FBINFO_BE_MATH internal flag, or cleared. Tested to work on MPC8360E-RDK (BE) + Fujitsu MINT framebuffer (LE). Signed-off-by: Anton Vorontsov <avorontsov@ru.mvista.com> Cc: "Antonino A. Daplas" <adaplas@pol.net> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: <Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu> Cc: Clemens Koller <clemens.koller@anagramm.de> Cc: Krzysztof Helt <krzysztof.h1@poczta.fm> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/video/fbmem.c')
-rw-r--r--drivers/video/fbmem.c30
1 files changed, 30 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/video/fbmem.c b/drivers/video/fbmem.c
index 01072f4..279c2db 100644
--- a/drivers/video/fbmem.c
+++ b/drivers/video/fbmem.c
@@ -1352,6 +1352,32 @@ static const struct file_operations fb_fops = {
struct class *fb_class;
EXPORT_SYMBOL(fb_class);
+
+static int fb_check_foreignness(struct fb_info *fi)
+{
+ const bool foreign_endian = fi->flags & FBINFO_FOREIGN_ENDIAN;
+
+ fi->flags &= ~FBINFO_FOREIGN_ENDIAN;
+
+#ifdef __BIG_ENDIAN
+ fi->flags |= foreign_endian ? 0 : FBINFO_BE_MATH;
+#else
+ fi->flags |= foreign_endian ? FBINFO_BE_MATH : 0;
+#endif /* __BIG_ENDIAN */
+
+ if (fi->flags & FBINFO_BE_MATH && !fb_be_math(fi)) {
+ pr_err("%s: enable CONFIG_FB_BIG_ENDIAN to "
+ "support this framebuffer\n", fi->fix.id);
+ return -ENOSYS;
+ } else if (!(fi->flags & FBINFO_BE_MATH) && fb_be_math(fi)) {
+ pr_err("%s: enable CONFIG_FB_LITTLE_ENDIAN to "
+ "support this framebuffer\n", fi->fix.id);
+ return -ENOSYS;
+ }
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
/**
* register_framebuffer - registers a frame buffer device
* @fb_info: frame buffer info structure
@@ -1371,6 +1397,10 @@ register_framebuffer(struct fb_info *fb_info)
if (num_registered_fb == FB_MAX)
return -ENXIO;
+
+ if (fb_check_foreignness(fb_info))
+ return -ENOSYS;
+
num_registered_fb++;
for (i = 0 ; i < FB_MAX; i++)
if (!registered_fb[i])

Privacy Policy