aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>2012-01-13 21:40:59 -0500
committerSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>2012-01-16 11:35:57 -0500
commitc10076c4304083af15a41f6bc5e657e781c1f9a6 (patch)
tree0a9fd7219177cc3d3cb9afe89fb3931c2fc1defd /kernel
parent2e885057b7f75035f0b85e02f737891482815a81 (diff)
tracepoints/module: Fix disabling tracepoints with taint CRAP or OOT
Tracepoints are disabled for tainted modules, which is usually because the module is either proprietary or was forced, and we don't want either of them using kernel tracepoints. But, a module can also be tainted by being in the staging directory or compiled out of tree. Either is fine for use with tracepoints, no need to punish them. I found this out when I noticed that my sample trace event module, when done out of tree, stopped working. Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 3.2 Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/tracepoint.c7
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/tracepoint.c b/kernel/tracepoint.c
index db110b8ae030..f1539decd99d 100644
--- a/kernel/tracepoint.c
+++ b/kernel/tracepoint.c
@@ -634,10 +634,11 @@ static int tracepoint_module_coming(struct module *mod)
int ret = 0;
/*
- * We skip modules that tain the kernel, especially those with different
- * module header (for forced load), to make sure we don't cause a crash.
+ * We skip modules that taint the kernel, especially those with different
+ * module headers (for forced load), to make sure we don't cause a crash.
+ * Staging and out-of-tree GPL modules are fine.
*/
- if (mod->taints)
+ if (mod->taints & ~((1 << TAINT_OOT_MODULE) | (1 << TAINT_CRAP)))
return 0;
mutex_lock(&tracepoints_mutex);
tp_mod = kmalloc(sizeof(struct tp_module), GFP_KERNEL);

Privacy Policy