aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/media/video/planb.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2007-11-04V4L/DVB (6407): planb: fix obvious interrupt handling bugsJeff Garzik1-4/+4
irq handlers have returned a return value for years now... catch up with the times. Also, ditch unneeded prototype. Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2007-10-22V4L/DVB (6320): v4l core: remove the unused .hardware V4L1 fieldMauro Carvalho Chehab1-1/+0
struct video_device used to define a .hardware field. While initialized on severl drivers, this field is never used inside V4L. However, drivers using it need to include the old V4L1 header. This seems to cause compilation troubles with some random configs. Better just to remove it from all drivers. Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2007-10-09V4L/DVB (6125): whitespace cleanup: replace leading spaces with tabsMichael Krufky1-15/+15
There were many instances of 7-space indents spread throughout the v4l-dvb tree. This patch replaces the 7-space indents with tabs. The whitespace cleaner script doesn't catch these, because it assumes that all indents are 8-space. Signed-off-by: Michael Krufky <mkrufky@linuxtv.org> Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2007-07-19some kmalloc/memset ->kzalloc (tree wide)Yoann Padioleau1-2/+1
Transform some calls to kmalloc/memset to a single kzalloc (or kcalloc). Here is a short excerpt of the semantic patch performing this transformation: @@ type T2; expression x; identifier f,fld; expression E; expression E1,E2; expression e1,e2,e3,y; statement S; @@ x = - kmalloc + kzalloc (E1,E2) ... when != \(x->fld=E;\|y=f(...,x,...);\|f(...,x,...);\|x=E;\|while(...) S\|for(e1;e2;e3) S\) - memset((T2)x,0,E1); @@ expression E1,E2,E3; @@ - kzalloc(E1 * E2,E3) + kcalloc(E1,E2,E3) [akpm@linux-foundation.org: get kcalloc args the right way around] Signed-off-by: Yoann Padioleau <padator@wanadoo.fr> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Acked-by: Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@gmail.com> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Acked-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Acked-by: Dmitry Torokhov <dtor@mail.ru> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Acked-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org> Acked-by: Pierre Ossman <drzeus-list@drzeus.cx> Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com> Cc: "Antonino A. Daplas" <adaplas@pol.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-04-30Merge branch 'linux-2.6' into for-2.6.22Paul Mackerras1-1/+5
2007-04-27V4L/DVB (5552): Plan-b: Switch to refcounting PCI APIAlan Cox1-1/+5
Signed-off-by: Alan Cox <alan@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2007-04-24[POWERPC] Remove old interface find_devicesStephen Rothwell1-1/+4
Replace uses with of_find_node_by_name and for_each_node_by_name. Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> Signed-off-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
2006-12-13[PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() callsRobert P. J. Day1-1/+1
Run this: #!/bin/sh for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do echo "De-casting $f..." perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f done And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers to non-pointers. And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work. Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com> Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com> Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk> Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org> Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com> Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net> Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com> Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au> Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz> Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-10-05IRQ: Maintain regs pointer globally rather than passing to IRQ handlersDavid Howells1-2/+2
Maintain a per-CPU global "struct pt_regs *" variable which can be used instead of passing regs around manually through all ~1800 interrupt handlers in the Linux kernel. The regs pointer is used in few places, but it potentially costs both stack space and code to pass it around. On the FRV arch, removing the regs parameter from all the genirq function results in a 20% speed up of the IRQ exit path (ie: from leaving timer_interrupt() to leaving do_IRQ()). Where appropriate, an arch may override the generic storage facility and do something different with the variable. On FRV, for instance, the address is maintained in GR28 at all times inside the kernel as part of general exception handling. Having looked over the code, it appears that the parameter may be handed down through up to twenty or so layers of functions. Consider a USB character device attached to a USB hub, attached to a USB controller that posts its interrupts through a cascaded auxiliary interrupt controller. A character device driver may want to pass regs to the sysrq handler through the input layer which adds another few layers of parameter passing. I've build this code with allyesconfig for x86_64 and i386. I've runtested the main part of the code on FRV and i386, though I can't test most of the drivers. I've also done partial conversion for powerpc and MIPS - these at least compile with minimal configurations. This will affect all archs. Mostly the changes should be relatively easy. Take do_IRQ(), store the regs pointer at the beginning, saving the old one: struct pt_regs *old_regs = set_irq_regs(regs); And put the old one back at the end: set_irq_regs(old_regs); Don't pass regs through to generic_handle_irq() or __do_IRQ(). In timer_interrupt(), this sort of change will be necessary: - update_process_times(user_mode(regs)); - profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING, regs); + update_process_times(user_mode(get_irq_regs())); + profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING); I'd like to move update_process_times()'s use of get_irq_regs() into itself, except that i386, alone of the archs, uses something other than user_mode(). Some notes on the interrupt handling in the drivers: (*) input_dev() is now gone entirely. The regs pointer is no longer stored in the input_dev struct. (*) finish_unlinks() in drivers/usb/host/ohci-q.c needs checking. It does something different depending on whether it's been supplied with a regs pointer or not. (*) Various IRQ handler function pointers have been moved to type irq_handler_t. Signed-Off-By: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> (cherry picked from 1b16e7ac850969f38b375e511e3fa2f474a33867 commit)
2006-06-25V4L/DVB (4068): Removed all references to kernel stuff from videodev.h and ↵Mauro Carvalho Chehab1-0/+1
videodev2.h The videodev.h and videodev2.h describe the public API for V4L and V4L2. It shouldn't have there any kernel-specific stuff. Those were moved to v4l2-dev.h. This patch removes some uneeded headers and include v4l2-common.h on all V4L driver. This header includes device implementation of V4L2 API provided on v4l2-dev.h as well as V4L2 internal ioctls that provides connections between master driver and its i2c devices. Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2006-03-28[PATCH] powerpc: Kill _machine and hard-coded platform numbersBenjamin Herrenschmidt1-1/+1
This removes statically assigned platform numbers and reworks the powerpc platform probe code to use a better mechanism. With this, board support files can simply declare a new machine type with a macro, and implement a probe() function that uses the flattened device-tree to detect if they apply for a given machine. We now have a machine_is() macro that replaces the comparisons of _machine with the various PLATFORM_* constants. This commit also changes various drivers to use the new macro instead of looking at _machine. Signed-off-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Signed-off-by: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
2006-03-25V4L/DVB (3599b): Whitespace cleanups under drivers/mediaMauro Carvalho Chehab1-64/+64
Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2006-02-07V4L/DVB (3318b): sem2mutex: drivers/media/, #2Ingo Molnar1-4/+4
Semaphore to mutex conversion. The conversion was generated via scripts, and the result was validated automatically via a script as well. Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2006-01-13V4L/DVB (3354a): Remove old MODULE_PARM in media/video/Eric Sesterhenn / snakebyte1-2/+2
Changes MODULE_PARM usage to module_param Signed-off-by: Eric Sesterhenn <snakebyte@gmx.de> Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds1-0/+2303
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!

Privacy Policy