aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/ABI
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>2014-10-09 15:29:53 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-10-09 22:26:02 -0400
commit9ada9da9573f3460b156b7755c093e30b258eacb (patch)
tree45d38673aa9bc81b99131a3a3c5e1e97292bb5f5 /Documentation/ABI
parent722cdc17232f0f684011407f7cf3c40d39457971 (diff)
zram: zram memory size limitation
Since zram has no control feature to limit memory usage, it makes hard to manage system memrory. This patch adds new knob "mem_limit" via sysfs to set up the a limit so that zram could fail allocation once it reaches the limit. In addition, user could change the limit in runtime so that he could manage the memory more dynamically. Initial state is no limit so it doesn't break old behavior. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix typo, per Sergey] Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: <juno.choi@lge.com> Cc: <seungho1.park@lge.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Cc: David Horner <ds2horner@gmail.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/ABI')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-block-zram9
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-block-zram b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-block-zram
index 70ec992514d0..ea67fa3f3cff 100644
--- a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-block-zram
+++ b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-block-zram
@@ -119,3 +119,12 @@ Description:
efficiency can be calculated using compr_data_size and this
statistic.
Unit: bytes
+
+What: /sys/block/zram<id>/mem_limit
+Date: August 2014
+Contact: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
+Description:
+ The mem_limit file is read/write and specifies the maximum
+ amount of memory ZRAM can use to store the compressed data. The
+ limit could be changed in run time and "0" means disable the
+ limit. No limit is the initial state. Unit: bytes

Privacy Policy