aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/kdump
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com>2013-07-03 15:08:38 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-07-03 16:08:03 -0700
commit987bf6fe3b1409b1cdf4352b3c421260c95d52f2 (patch)
tree9368d8d04d71f8b3297b08ba72eccbdb218382d1 /Documentation/kdump
parenta11edb59a05d8d5195419bd1fc28d82752324158 (diff)
Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt: remove /dev/oldmem description
Signed-off-by: Zhang Yanfei <zhangyanfei@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@sr71.net> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@intel.com> Cc: Michael Holzheu <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/kdump')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt31
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 25 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt b/Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt
index 9c7fd988e299..bec123e466ae 100644
--- a/Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt
+++ b/Documentation/kdump/kdump.txt
@@ -47,19 +47,12 @@ parameter. Optionally the size of the ELF header can also be passed
when using the elfcorehdr=[size[KMG]@]offset[KMG] syntax.
-With the dump-capture kernel, you can access the memory image, or "old
-memory," in two ways:
-
-- Through a /dev/oldmem device interface. A capture utility can read the
- device file and write out the memory in raw format. This is a raw dump
- of memory. Analysis and capture tools must be intelligent enough to
- determine where to look for the right information.
-
-- Through /proc/vmcore. This exports the dump as an ELF-format file that
- you can write out using file copy commands such as cp or scp. Further,
- you can use analysis tools such as the GNU Debugger (GDB) and the Crash
- tool to debug the dump file. This method ensures that the dump pages are
- correctly ordered.
+With the dump-capture kernel, you can access the memory image through
+/proc/vmcore. This exports the dump as an ELF-format file that you can
+write out using file copy commands such as cp or scp. Further, you can
+use analysis tools such as the GNU Debugger (GDB) and the Crash tool to
+debug the dump file. This method ensures that the dump pages are correctly
+ordered.
Setup and Installation
@@ -423,18 +416,6 @@ the following command:
cp /proc/vmcore <dump-file>
-You can also access dumped memory as a /dev/oldmem device for a linear
-and raw view. To create the device, use the following command:
-
- mknod /dev/oldmem c 1 12
-
-Use the dd command with suitable options for count, bs, and skip to
-access specific portions of the dump.
-
-To see the entire memory, use the following command:
-
- dd if=/dev/oldmem of=oldmem.001
-
Analysis
========

Privacy Policy