aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>2015-01-04 18:36:19 (GMT)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2015-01-09 10:12:28 (GMT)
commit88a7c26af8dab2f2d69f5a6067eb670694ec38c0 (patch)
treee8a9d6c7512f7644a2a5a583b16f6fe4b29b16af /include
parent0f363b250b15af0f218bb2876d101fe5cd413f8b (diff)
perf: Move task_pt_regs sampling into arch code
On x86_64, at least, task_pt_regs may be only partially initialized in many contexts, so x86_64 should not use it without extra care from interrupt context, let alone NMI context. This will allow x86_64 to override the logic and will supply some scratch space to use to make a cleaner copy of user regs. Tested-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: chenggang.qcg@taobao.com Cc: Wu Fengguang <fengguang.wu@intel.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Jean Pihet <jean.pihet@linaro.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/e431cd4c18c2e1c44c774f10758527fb2d1025c4.1420396372.git.luto@amacapital.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/perf_event.h12
-rw-r--r--include/linux/perf_regs.h16
2 files changed, 23 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/perf_event.h b/include/linux/perf_event.h
index 486e84c..4f7a61c 100644
--- a/include/linux/perf_event.h
+++ b/include/linux/perf_event.h
@@ -79,11 +79,6 @@ struct perf_branch_stack {
struct perf_branch_entry entries[0];
};
-struct perf_regs {
- __u64 abi;
- struct pt_regs *regs;
-};
-
struct task_struct;
/*
@@ -610,7 +605,14 @@ struct perf_sample_data {
u32 reserved;
} cpu_entry;
struct perf_callchain_entry *callchain;
+
+ /*
+ * regs_user may point to task_pt_regs or to regs_user_copy, depending
+ * on arch details.
+ */
struct perf_regs regs_user;
+ struct pt_regs regs_user_copy;
+
struct perf_regs regs_intr;
u64 stack_user_size;
} ____cacheline_aligned;
diff --git a/include/linux/perf_regs.h b/include/linux/perf_regs.h
index 3c73d5f..a5f98d5 100644
--- a/include/linux/perf_regs.h
+++ b/include/linux/perf_regs.h
@@ -1,11 +1,19 @@
#ifndef _LINUX_PERF_REGS_H
#define _LINUX_PERF_REGS_H
+struct perf_regs {
+ __u64 abi;
+ struct pt_regs *regs;
+};
+
#ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_PERF_REGS
#include <asm/perf_regs.h>
u64 perf_reg_value(struct pt_regs *regs, int idx);
int perf_reg_validate(u64 mask);
u64 perf_reg_abi(struct task_struct *task);
+void perf_get_regs_user(struct perf_regs *regs_user,
+ struct pt_regs *regs,
+ struct pt_regs *regs_user_copy);
#else
static inline u64 perf_reg_value(struct pt_regs *regs, int idx)
{
@@ -21,5 +29,13 @@ static inline u64 perf_reg_abi(struct task_struct *task)
{
return PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_ABI_NONE;
}
+
+static inline void perf_get_regs_user(struct perf_regs *regs_user,
+ struct pt_regs *regs,
+ struct pt_regs *regs_user_copy)
+{
+ regs_user->regs = task_pt_regs(current);
+ regs_user->abi = perf_reg_abi(current);
+}
#endif /* CONFIG_HAVE_PERF_REGS */
#endif /* _LINUX_PERF_REGS_H */

Privacy Policy