aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2014-05-07 21:35:02 +0200
committerJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>2014-06-12 16:53:21 +0200
commita08cae03f430b971afa508a32662dc476d42d8cb (patch)
tree3258591c03af54b3392fc3292baa194e63b45296 /tools
parentc3fbd2a606c5f88de0079b027727a1fb0ae27b65 (diff)
perf tools: Allow to close dso fd in case of open failure
Adding do_open function that tries to close opened dso objects in case we fail to open the dso due to to crossing the allowed RLIMIT_NOFILE limit. Acked-by: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org> Cc: Corey Ashford <cjashfor@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Jean Pihet <jean.pihet@linaro.org> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1401892622-30848-9-git-send-email-jolsa@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/dso.c23
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/dso.c b/tools/perf/util/dso.c
index db634383156c..c30752c7eebb 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/dso.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/dso.c
@@ -159,6 +159,27 @@ static void dso__list_del(struct dso *dso)
dso__data_open_cnt--;
}
+static void close_first_dso(void);
+
+static int do_open(char *name)
+{
+ int fd;
+
+ do {
+ fd = open(name, O_RDONLY);
+ if (fd >= 0)
+ return fd;
+
+ pr_debug("dso open failed, mmap: %s\n", strerror(errno));
+ if (!dso__data_open_cnt || errno != EMFILE)
+ break;
+
+ close_first_dso();
+ } while (1);
+
+ return -1;
+}
+
static int __open_dso(struct dso *dso, struct machine *machine)
{
int fd;
@@ -177,7 +198,7 @@ static int __open_dso(struct dso *dso, struct machine *machine)
return -EINVAL;
}
- fd = open(name, O_RDONLY);
+ fd = do_open(name);
free(name);
return fd;
}

Privacy Policy