aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/auxdisplay/Makefile
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2014-09-26Documentation: use subdir-y to avoid unnecessary built-in.o filesPeter Foley1-3/+0
Change the Documentation makefiles from obj-m to subdir-y to avoid generating unnecessary built-in.o files since nothing in Documentation/ is ever linked in to vmlinux. Signed-off-by: Peter Foley <pefoley2@pefoley.com> Acked-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2008-08-12docsrc: build Documentation/ sourcesRandy Dunlap1-0/+10
Currently source files in the Documentation/ sub-dir can easily bit-rot since they are not generally buildable, either because they are hidden in text files or because there are no Makefile rules for them. This needs to be fixed so that the source files remain usable and good examples of code instead of bad examples. Add the ability to build source files that are in the Documentation/ dir. Add to Kconfig as "BUILD_DOCSRC" config symbol. Use "CONFIG_BUILD_DOCSRC=1 make ..." to build objects from the Documentation/ sources. Or enable BUILD_DOCSRC in the *config system. However, this symbol depends on HEADERS_CHECK since the header files need to be installed (for userspace builds). Built (using cross-tools) for x86-64, i386, alpha, ia64, sparc32, sparc64, powerpc, sh, m68k, & mips. Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Privacy Policy