aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/devicetree/booting-without-of.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2014-01-16dt/bindings: Remove all references to device_type "ethernet-phy"Grant Likely1-3/+0
The device_type property is deprecated for the flattened device tree and the value "ethernet-phy" has never been defined as having a useful meaning. Neither the kernel nor u-boot depend on it. It should never have appeared in PHY bindings. This patch removes all references to "ethernet-phy" as a device_type value from the documentation and the .dts files. This patch was generated mechanically with the following command and then verified by looking at the diff. sed -i '/"ethernet-phy"/d' `git grep -l '"ethernet-phy"'` Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org> Acked-by: Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@st.com> Cc: Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com> Cc: Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk> Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org> Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
2013-02-21sun.com documentation fixesChristian Kujau1-1/+1
After I came across a help text for SUNGEM mentioning a broken sun.com URL, I felt like fixing those up, as they are now pointing to oracle.com URLs. Signed-off-by: Christian Kujau <lists@nerdbynature.de> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2012-05-19dt/documentation: Fix value format descriptionRoland Stigge1-27/+28
Numeric values in dts files can be specified in decimal and hex (the latter prefixed 0x). The current documentation is updated with this patch to prevent confusion about what is meant with values without "0x" (previously hex, now dec). Signed-off-by: Roland Stigge <stigge@antcom.de> Acked-by: Rob Landley <rob@landley.net> Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
2012-03-07Documentation: Fix multiple typo in DocumentationMasanari Iida1-1/+1
Signed-off-by: Masanari Iida <standby24x7@gmail.com> Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2011-05-23dt: add documentation of ARM dt boot interfaceGrant Likely1-4/+44
v6: typo fixes v5: clarified that dtb should be aligned on a 64 bit boundary in RAM. v3: added details to Documentation/arm/Booting Acked-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com> Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
2011-04-04Documentation: fix minor typos/spellingSylvestre Ledru1-3/+3
Fix some minor typos: * informations => information * there own => their own * these => this Signed-off-by: Sylvestre Ledru <sylvestre.ledru@scilab.org> Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2011-02-23x86: Add device tree supportSebastian Andrzej Siewior1-0/+20
This patch adds minimal support for device tree on x86. The device tree blob is passed to the kernel via setup_data which requires at least boot protocol 2.09. Memory size, restricted memory regions, boot arguments are gathered the traditional way so things like cmd_line are just here to let the code compile. The current plan is use the device tree as an extension and to gather information which can not be enumerated and would have to be hardcoded otherwise. This includes things like - which devices are on this I2C/SPI bus? - how are the interrupts wired to IO APIC? - where could my hpet be? Signed-off-by: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Dirk Brandewie <dirk.brandewie@gmail.com> Acked-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca> Cc: sodaville@linutronix.de Cc: devicetree-discuss@lists.ozlabs.org LKML-Reference: <1298405266-1624-3-git-send-email-bigeasy@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
2011-02-14Revert "dt: add documentation of ARM dt boot interface"Grant Likely1-40/+0
This reverts commit 9830fcd6f6a4781d8b46d2b35c13b39f30915c63. The ARM dt support has not been merged yet; this documentation update was premature. Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
2011-01-31dt: add documentation of ARM dt boot interfaceGrant Likely1-0/+40
v3: added details to Documentation/arm/Booting Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
2011-01-31dt: Remove obsolete description of powerpc boot interfaceGrant Likely1-111/+54
32 and 64 bit powerpc support has been merged for a while now, but the booting-without-of.txt document still describes 32 bit as not supporting multiplatform, which is no longer true. This patch fixes the documentation. Also remove references to powerpc-specific details outside of section I in preparation to add details for other architectures. v3: cleaned up a lot more powerpc-isms and updated text to reflect current usage conventions. Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>
2011-01-31dt: Move device tree documentation out of powerpc directoryGrant Likely1-0/+1447
The device tree is used by more than just PowerPC. Make the documentation directory available to all. v2: reorganized files while moving to create arch and driver specific directories. Signed-off-by: Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca> Acked-by: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

Privacy Policy