aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/phy.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2014-11-21phy: improved lookup methodHeikki Krogerus1-44/+16
Separates registration of the phy and the lookup. The method is copied from clkdev.c, Signed-off-by: Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>
2014-07-22phy: core: Let node ptr of PHY point to PHY and not of PHY providerKishon Vijay Abraham I1-4/+6
In case of multi-phy PHY providers, each PHY should be modeled as a sub node of the PHY provider. Then each PHY will have a different node pointer (node pointer of sub node) than that of PHY provider. Added this provision in the PHY core. Also fixed all drivers to use the updated API. Signed-off-by: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com> Acked-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
2014-02-05drivers: phy: Add support for optional physAndrew Lunn1-7/+13
Add devm_phy_optional_get and phy_optional_get, which should be used when the phy is optional. They does not return an error when the phy does not exist, rather they returns NULL, which is considered as a valid phy, but results in NOPs when used with the consumer API. Signed-off-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Tested-by: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com> Acked-by: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com> Signed-off-by: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
2014-02-05drivers: phy: Make NULL a valid phy referenceAndrew Lunn1-0/+6
The common clock framework considers NULL a valid clock reference. This makes handling optional clocks simple, in that if the optional clock is not available, a NULL reference can be used in the place of a real clock, simplifying the clock consumer. Extend this concept to the phy consumer API. A NULL can be passed to the release calls, the phy_init() and phy_exit() calls, and phy_power_on() and phy_power_off() and a NOP is performed. Signed-off-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> Tested-by: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com> Acked-by: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com> Signed-off-by: Jason Cooper <jason@lakedaemon.net>
2013-09-27drivers: phy: add generic PHY frameworkKishon Vijay Abraham I1-0/+166
The PHY framework provides a set of APIs for the PHY drivers to create/destroy a PHY and APIs for the PHY users to obtain a reference to the PHY with or without using phandle. For dt-boot, the PHY drivers should also register *PHY provider* with the framework. PHY drivers should create the PHY by passing id and ops like init, exit, power_on and power_off. This framework is also pm runtime enabled. The documentation for the generic PHY framework is added in Documentation/phy.txt and the documentation for dt binding can be found at Documentation/devicetree/bindings/phy/phy-bindings.txt Cc: Tomasz Figa <t.figa@samsung.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Signed-off-by: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com> Acked-by: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com> Tested-by: Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

Privacy Policy