aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/security/Yama.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2014-05-05doc: spelling error changesCarlos Garcia1-1/+1
Fixed multiple spelling errors. Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Carlos E. Garcia <carlos@cgarcia.org> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2012-08-10Yama: higher restrictions should block PTRACE_TRACEMEKees Cook1-7/+7
The higher ptrace restriction levels should be blocking even PTRACE_TRACEME requests. The comments in the LSM documentation are misleading about when the checks happen (the parent does not go through security_ptrace_access_check() on a PTRACE_TRACEME call). Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 3.5.x and later Signed-off-by: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
2012-04-19Yama: add additional ptrace scopesKees Cook1-1/+9
This expands the available Yama ptrace restrictions to include two more modes. Mode 2 requires CAP_SYS_PTRACE for PTRACE_ATTACH, and mode 3 completely disables PTRACE_ATTACH (and locks the sysctl). Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Signed-off-by: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
2012-02-16Yama: add PR_SET_PTRACER_ANYKees Cook1-1/+6
For a process to entirely disable Yama ptrace restrictions, it can use the special PR_SET_PTRACER_ANY pid to indicate that any otherwise allowed process may ptrace it. This is stronger than calling PR_SET_PTRACER with pid "1" because it includes processes in external pid namespaces. This is currently needed by the Chrome renderer, since its crash handler (Breakpad) runs external to the renderer's pid namespace. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Signed-off-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
2012-02-10security: Yama LSMKees Cook1-0/+60
This adds the Yama Linux Security Module to collect DAC security improvements (specifically just ptrace restrictions for now) that have existed in various forms over the years and have been carried outside the mainline kernel by other Linux distributions like Openwall and grsecurity. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Acked-by: John Johansen <john.johansen@canonical.com> Signed-off-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>

Privacy Policy