aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/RCU
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2011-08-10 23:21:01 +0200
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2013-04-03 13:56:03 +0200
commit3451d0243c3cdfd729b36f9684a14659d4895ca3 (patch)
tree5307f4492708ae089dd0a6d81b54f9e606707ca8 /Documentation/RCU
parentab71d36ddb9e60d4ddb28a187718815d38c3c666 (diff)
nohz: Rename CONFIG_NO_HZ to CONFIG_NO_HZ_COMMON
We are planning to convert the dynticks Kconfig options layout into a choice menu. The user must be able to easily pick any of the following implementations: constant periodic tick, idle dynticks, full dynticks. As this implies a mutual exclusion, the two dynticks implementions need to converge on the selection of a common Kconfig option in order to ease the sharing of a common infrastructure. It would thus seem pretty natural to reuse CONFIG_NO_HZ to that end. It already implements all the idle dynticks code and the full dynticks depends on all that code for now. So ideally the choice menu would propose CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE and CONFIG_NO_HZ_EXTENDED then both would select CONFIG_NO_HZ. On the other hand we want to stay backward compatible: if CONFIG_NO_HZ is set in an older config file, we want to enable CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE by default. But we can't afford both at the same time or we run into a circular dependency: 1) CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE and CONFIG_NO_HZ_EXTENDED both select CONFIG_NO_HZ 2) If CONFIG_NO_HZ is set, we default to CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE We might be able to support that from Kconfig/Kbuild but it may not be wise to introduce such a confusing behaviour. So to solve this, create a new CONFIG_NO_HZ_COMMON option which gathers the common code between idle and full dynticks (that common code for now is simply the idle dynticks code) and select it from their referring Kconfig. Then we'll later create CONFIG_NO_HZ_IDLE and map CONFIG_NO_HZ to it for backward compatibility. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org> Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com> Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@linaro.org> Cc: Li Zhong <zhong@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung.kim@lge.com> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/RCU')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/RCU/stallwarn.txt2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/RCU/stallwarn.txt b/Documentation/RCU/stallwarn.txt
index 1927151b386b..b336755b71ed 100644
--- a/Documentation/RCU/stallwarn.txt
+++ b/Documentation/RCU/stallwarn.txt
@@ -176,7 +176,7 @@ o A CPU-bound real-time task in a CONFIG_PREEMPT_RT kernel that
o A hardware or software issue shuts off the scheduler-clock
interrupt on a CPU that is not in dyntick-idle mode. This
problem really has happened, and seems to be most likely to
- result in RCU CPU stall warnings for CONFIG_NO_HZ=n kernels.
+ result in RCU CPU stall warnings for CONFIG_NO_HZ_COMMON=n kernels.
o A bug in the RCU implementation.

Privacy Policy