aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/blockdev
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>2014-10-09 15:29:55 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2014-10-09 22:26:02 -0400
commit461a8eee6af3b55745be64bea403ed0b743563cf (patch)
treea1bea4ab73525d7f3f56c437b86843b04cb0e03c /Documentation/blockdev
parent9ada9da9573f3460b156b7755c093e30b258eacb (diff)
zram: report maximum used memory
Normally, zram user could get maximum memory usage zram consumed via polling mem_used_total with sysfs in userspace. But it has a critical problem because user can miss peak memory usage during update inverval of polling. For avoiding that, user should poll it with shorter interval(ie, 0.0000000001s) with mlocking to avoid page fault delay when memory pressure is heavy. It would be troublesome. This patch adds new knob "mem_used_max" so user could see the maximum memory usage easily via reading the knob and reset it via "echo 0 > /sys/block/zram0/mem_used_max". Signed-off-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Reviewed-by: Dan Streetman <ddstreet@ieee.org> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com> Cc: Jerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com> Cc: <juno.choi@lge.com> Cc: <seungho1.park@lge.com> Cc: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@google.com> Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org> Cc: Seth Jennings <sjennings@variantweb.net> Reviewed-by: David Horner <ds2horner@gmail.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/blockdev')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/blockdev/zram.txt1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/blockdev/zram.txt b/Documentation/blockdev/zram.txt
index 82c6a41116db..7fcf9c6592ec 100644
--- a/Documentation/blockdev/zram.txt
+++ b/Documentation/blockdev/zram.txt
@@ -111,6 +111,7 @@ size of the disk when not in use so a huge zram is wasteful.
orig_data_size
compr_data_size
mem_used_total
+ mem_used_max
8) Deactivate:
swapoff /dev/zram0

Privacy Policy