aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMatthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>2015-02-16 15:59:35 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-16 17:56:04 -0800
commit25726bc15731d42112b579cf73f30edbc43d3973 (patch)
treeaa8e2d0e7d0e6c92a581c88559b03027fb8f5589 /Documentation
parent9c3ce9ec58716733232b97771b10f31901caf62e (diff)
dax: add dax_zero_page_range
This new function allows us to support hole-punch for DAX files by zeroing a partial page, as opposed to the dax_truncate_page() function which can only truncate to the end of the page. Reimplement dax_truncate_page() to call dax_zero_page_range(). [ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com: ported to 3.13-rc2] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix typos in comments] Signed-off-by: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
index 635adaa1e425..ebcd97f03654 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
@@ -62,6 +62,7 @@ Filesystem support consists of
for fault and page_mkwrite (which should probably call dax_fault() and
dax_mkwrite(), passing the appropriate get_block() callback)
- calling dax_truncate_page() instead of block_truncate_page() for DAX files
+- calling dax_zero_page_range() instead of zero_user() for DAX files
- ensuring that there is sufficient locking between reads, writes,
truncates and page faults

Privacy Policy