aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRoss Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>2015-02-16 15:59:38 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-16 17:56:04 -0800
commit923ae0ff9250430133b3310fe62c47538cf1cbc1 (patch)
tree3c4194cbedbe77e719bf7c8762fba5362ec26032 /Documentation
parent25726bc15731d42112b579cf73f30edbc43d3973 (diff)
ext4: add DAX functionality
This is a port of the DAX functionality found in the current version of ext2. [matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com: heavily tweaked] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: remap_pages went away] Signed-off-by: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt1
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt4
2 files changed, 5 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
index ebcd97f03654..be376d91d058 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt
@@ -73,6 +73,7 @@ or a write()) work correctly.
These filesystems may be used for inspiration:
- ext2: the second extended filesystem, see Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt
+- ext4: the fourth extended filesystem, see Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt
Shortcomings
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt
index 919a3293aaa4..6c0108eb0137 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/ext4.txt
@@ -386,6 +386,10 @@ max_dir_size_kb=n This limits the size of directories so that any
i_version Enable 64-bit inode version support. This option is
off by default.
+dax Use direct access (no page cache). See
+ Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt. Note that
+ this option is incompatible with data=journal.
+
Data Mode
=========
There are 3 different data modes:

Privacy Policy