aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMatthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>2015-02-16 15:59:31 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-16 17:56:04 -0800
commit9c3ce9ec58716733232b97771b10f31901caf62e (patch)
tree25cc2bebbbc248d97f71262a542c7ee0e96411c0 /Documentation
parent97443aa809a142b1e6db2ccfb046c3a962907204 (diff)
ext2: get rid of most mentions of XIP in ext2
To help people transition, accept the 'xip' mount option (and report it in /proc/mounts), but print a message encouraging people to switch over to the 'dax' option. Signed-off-by: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt5
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt
index 67639f905f10..b9714569e472 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/ext2.txt
@@ -20,6 +20,9 @@ minixdf Makes `df' act like Minix.
check=none, nocheck (*) Don't do extra checking of bitmaps on mount
(check=normal and check=strict options removed)
+dax Use direct access (no page cache). See
+ Documentation/filesystems/dax.txt.
+
debug Extra debugging information is sent to the
kernel syslog. Useful for developers.
@@ -56,8 +59,6 @@ noacl Don't support POSIX ACLs.
nobh Do not attach buffer_heads to file pagecache.
-xip Use execute in place (no caching) if possible
-
grpquota,noquota,quota,usrquota Quota options are silently ignored by ext2.

Privacy Policy