aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMatthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com>2015-02-16 15:59:12 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-16 17:56:03 -0800
commite748dcd095ddee50e7a7deda2e26247715318a2e (patch)
treefc76626987c4caa57a1511f671bc105a179d583e /Documentation
parent95ec8daba310b44302d2977dd54b16886527b681 (diff)
vfs: remove get_xip_mem
All callers of get_xip_mem() are now gone. Remove checks for it, initialisers of it, documentation of it and the only implementation of it. Also remove mm/filemap_xip.c as it is now empty. Also remove documentation of the long-gone get_xip_page(). Signed-off-by: Matthew Wilcox <matthew.r.wilcox@intel.com> Cc: Andreas Dilger <andreas.dilger@intel.com> Cc: Boaz Harrosh <boaz@plexistor.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com> Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/Locking3
-rw-r--r--Documentation/filesystems/vfs.txt7
2 files changed, 0 insertions, 10 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/Locking b/Documentation/filesystems/Locking
index b30753cbf431..2ca3d17eee56 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/Locking
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/Locking
@@ -199,8 +199,6 @@ prototypes:
int (*releasepage) (struct page *, int);
void (*freepage)(struct page *);
int (*direct_IO)(int, struct kiocb *, struct iov_iter *iter, loff_t offset);
- int (*get_xip_mem)(struct address_space *, pgoff_t, int, void **,
- unsigned long *);
int (*migratepage)(struct address_space *, struct page *, struct page *);
int (*launder_page)(struct page *);
int (*is_partially_uptodate)(struct page *, unsigned long, unsigned long);
@@ -225,7 +223,6 @@ invalidatepage: yes
releasepage: yes
freepage: yes
direct_IO:
-get_xip_mem: maybe
migratepage: yes (both)
launder_page: yes
is_partially_uptodate: yes
diff --git a/Documentation/filesystems/vfs.txt b/Documentation/filesystems/vfs.txt
index 43ce0507ee25..966b22829f3b 100644
--- a/Documentation/filesystems/vfs.txt
+++ b/Documentation/filesystems/vfs.txt
@@ -591,8 +591,6 @@ struct address_space_operations {
int (*releasepage) (struct page *, int);
void (*freepage)(struct page *);
ssize_t (*direct_IO)(int, struct kiocb *, struct iov_iter *iter, loff_t offset);
- struct page* (*get_xip_page)(struct address_space *, sector_t,
- int);
/* migrate the contents of a page to the specified target */
int (*migratepage) (struct page *, struct page *);
int (*launder_page) (struct page *);
@@ -748,11 +746,6 @@ struct address_space_operations {
and transfer data directly between the storage and the
application's address space.
- get_xip_page: called by the VM to translate a block number to a page.
- The page is valid until the corresponding filesystem is unmounted.
- Filesystems that want to use execute-in-place (XIP) need to implement
- it. An example implementation can be found in fs/ext2/xip.c.
-
migrate_page: This is used to compact the physical memory usage.
If the VM wants to relocate a page (maybe off a memory card
that is signalling imminent failure) it will pass a new page

Privacy Policy