aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>2015-02-13 22:36:38 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-14 05:21:36 (GMT)
commit3dec16ea38afce38ceb49c8938901318797a08c4 (patch)
treed40b51012496854360bc3292675cc3520ac4cbef /mm
parent612936f21277d1254dd885de2e383aacdc7ca67f (diff)
mm/slab: convert cache name allocations to kstrdup_const
slab frequently performs duplication of strings located in read-only memory section. Replacing kstrdup by kstrdup_const allows to avoid such operations. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: make the handling of kmem_cache.name const-correct] Signed-off-by: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com> Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com> Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com> Cc: Mike Turquette <mturquette@linaro.org> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/slab_common.c12
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/mm/slab_common.c b/mm/slab_common.c
index 1a1cc89..429a450 100644
--- a/mm/slab_common.c
+++ b/mm/slab_common.c
@@ -295,8 +295,8 @@ unsigned long calculate_alignment(unsigned long flags,
}
static struct kmem_cache *
-do_kmem_cache_create(char *name, size_t object_size, size_t size, size_t align,
- unsigned long flags, void (*ctor)(void *),
+do_kmem_cache_create(const char *name, size_t object_size, size_t size,
+ size_t align, unsigned long flags, void (*ctor)(void *),
struct mem_cgroup *memcg, struct kmem_cache *root_cache)
{
struct kmem_cache *s;
@@ -363,7 +363,7 @@ kmem_cache_create(const char *name, size_t size, size_t align,
unsigned long flags, void (*ctor)(void *))
{
struct kmem_cache *s;
- char *cache_name;
+ const char *cache_name;
int err;
get_online_cpus();
@@ -390,7 +390,7 @@ kmem_cache_create(const char *name, size_t size, size_t align,
if (s)
goto out_unlock;
- cache_name = kstrdup(name, GFP_KERNEL);
+ cache_name = kstrdup_const(name, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!cache_name) {
err = -ENOMEM;
goto out_unlock;
@@ -401,7 +401,7 @@ kmem_cache_create(const char *name, size_t size, size_t align,
flags, ctor, NULL, NULL);
if (IS_ERR(s)) {
err = PTR_ERR(s);
- kfree(cache_name);
+ kfree_const(cache_name);
}
out_unlock:
@@ -607,7 +607,7 @@ void memcg_destroy_kmem_caches(struct mem_cgroup *memcg)
void slab_kmem_cache_release(struct kmem_cache *s)
{
destroy_memcg_params(s);
- kfree(s->name);
+ kfree_const(s->name);
kmem_cache_free(kmem_cache, s);
}

Privacy Policy