aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>2015-02-13 22:39:21 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-14 05:21:40 (GMT)
commit786a8959912eb94fc2381c2ae487a96ce55dabca (patch)
treeb098e2dd7be09ba79e6219ca5a00b0fe785510d5 /mm
parent0b24becc810dc3be6e3f94103a866f214c282394 (diff)
kasan: disable memory hotplug
Currently memory hotplug won't work with KASan. As we don't have shadow for hotplugged memory, kernel will crash on the first access to it. To make this work we will need to allocate shadow for new memory. At some future point proper memory hotplug support will be implemented. Until then, print a warning at startup and disable memory hot-add. Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@google.com> Cc: Dmitry Chernenkov <dmitryc@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@gmail.com> Cc: Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@gmail.com> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@gmail.com> Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/kasan/kasan.c21
1 files changed, 21 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/kasan/kasan.c b/mm/kasan/kasan.c
index 6dc1aa7..def8110 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/kasan.c
+++ b/mm/kasan/kasan.c
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@
#include <linux/init.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/memblock.h>
+#include <linux/memory.h>
#include <linux/mm.h>
#include <linux/printk.h>
#include <linux/sched.h>
@@ -300,3 +301,23 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(__asan_storeN_noabort);
/* to shut up compiler complaints */
void __asan_handle_no_return(void) {}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(__asan_handle_no_return);
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
+static int kasan_mem_notifier(struct notifier_block *nb,
+ unsigned long action, void *data)
+{
+ return (action == MEM_GOING_ONLINE) ? NOTIFY_BAD : NOTIFY_OK;
+}
+
+static int __init kasan_memhotplug_init(void)
+{
+ pr_err("WARNING: KASan doesn't support memory hot-add\n");
+ pr_err("Memory hot-add will be disabled\n");
+
+ hotplug_memory_notifier(kasan_mem_notifier, 0);
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+module_init(kasan_memhotplug_init);
+#endif

Privacy Policy