aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>2015-02-13 22:39:59 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2015-02-14 05:21:41 (GMT)
commitc420f167db8c799d69fe43a801c58a7f02e9d57c (patch)
tree3dff6731a0459d554ae81d07b557721d6b72f773 /mm
parent393f203f5fd54421fddb1e2a263f64d3876eeadb (diff)
kasan: enable stack instrumentation
Stack instrumentation allows to detect out of bounds memory accesses for variables allocated on stack. Compiler adds redzones around every variable on stack and poisons redzones in function's prologue. Such approach significantly increases stack usage, so all in-kernel stacks size were doubled. Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@google.com> Cc: Dmitry Chernenkov <dmitryc@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@gmail.com> Cc: Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@gmail.com> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@gmail.com> Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/kasan/kasan.h9
-rw-r--r--mm/kasan/report.c6
2 files changed, 15 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/mm/kasan/kasan.h b/mm/kasan/kasan.h
index 5b052ab..1fcc1d8 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/kasan.h
+++ b/mm/kasan/kasan.h
@@ -12,6 +12,15 @@
#define KASAN_KMALLOC_REDZONE 0xFC /* redzone inside slub object */
#define KASAN_KMALLOC_FREE 0xFB /* object was freed (kmem_cache_free/kfree) */
+/*
+ * Stack redzone shadow values
+ * (Those are compiler's ABI, don't change them)
+ */
+#define KASAN_STACK_LEFT 0xF1
+#define KASAN_STACK_MID 0xF2
+#define KASAN_STACK_RIGHT 0xF3
+#define KASAN_STACK_PARTIAL 0xF4
+
struct kasan_access_info {
const void *access_addr;
diff --git a/mm/kasan/report.c b/mm/kasan/report.c
index 2760edb..866732e 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/report.c
+++ b/mm/kasan/report.c
@@ -64,6 +64,12 @@ static void print_error_description(struct kasan_access_info *info)
case 0 ... KASAN_SHADOW_SCALE_SIZE - 1:
bug_type = "out of bounds access";
break;
+ case KASAN_STACK_LEFT:
+ case KASAN_STACK_MID:
+ case KASAN_STACK_RIGHT:
+ case KASAN_STACK_PARTIAL:
+ bug_type = "out of bounds on stack";
+ break;
}
pr_err("BUG: KASan: %s in %pS at addr %p\n",

Privacy Policy