aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
AgeCommit message (Collapse)AuthorFilesLines
2014-11-13documentation: Add atomic_long_t to atomic_ops.txtPaul E. McKenney1-4/+8
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Pranith Kumar <bobby.prani@gmail.com>
2014-04-18arch,doc: Convert smp_mb__*()Peter Zijlstra1-19/+12
Update the documentation to reflect the change of barrier primitives. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-xslfehiga1twbk5uk94rij1e@git.kernel.org Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
2013-01-08Documentation: Memory barrier semantics of atomic_xchg()Richard Braun1-0/+2
Add atomic_xchg() to documentation for atomic operations and memory barriers. Signed-off-by: Richard Braun <rbraun@sceen.net> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
2011-12-11doc: Add load/store guarantees to Documentation/atomic-ops.txtPaul E. McKenney1-0/+87
An IRC discussion uncovered many conflicting opinions on what types of data may be atomically loaded and stored. This commit therefore calls this out the official set: pointers, longs, ints, and chars (but not shorts). This commit also gives some examples of compiler mischief that can thwart atomicity. Please note that this discussion is relevant to !SMP kernels if CONFIG_PREEMPT=y: preemption can cause almost as much trouble as can SMP. Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Jes Sorensen <jes@sgi.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
2011-05-27Documentation/atomic_ops.txt: avoid volatile in sample codeNikanth Karthikesan1-1/+1
As declaring counter as volatile is discouraged, it is best not to use it in sample code as well. Signed-off-by: Nikanth Karthikesan <knikanth@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2010-04-23Documentation/: it's -> its where appropriateFrancis Galiegue1-1/+1
Fix obvious cases of "it's" being used when "its" was meant. Signed-off-by: Francis Galiegue <fgaliegue@gmail.com> Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
2009-06-17Documentation/atomic_ops.txt: fix sample codeFigo.zhang1-2/+2
list_add() lost a parameter in sample code. Signed-off-by: Figo.zhang <figo1802@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2008-02-24documentation: atomic_add_unless() doesn't imply mb() on failureOleg Nesterov1-1/+2
(sorry for being offtpoic, but while experts are here...) A "typical" implementation of atomic_add_unless() can return 0 immediately after the first atomic_read() (before doing cmpxchg). In that case it doesn't provide any barrier semantics. See include/asm-ia64/atomic.h as an example. We should either change the implementation, or fix the docs. Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru> Acked-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-18bitops: introduce lock opsNick Piggin1-0/+14
Introduce test_and_set_bit_lock / clear_bit_unlock bitops with lock semantics. Convert all architectures to use the generic implementation. Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Acked-By: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-17atomic_ops.txt has incorrect, misleading and insufficient information [Bug 9020]Matti Linnanvuori1-5/+50
atomic_ops.txt has incorrect, misleading and insufficient information about semantics of initializer, atomic_set, atomic_read and atomic_xchg. It also incorrectly implies that operations mentioned above are not actual atomic operations. Included is most of the patch Document non-semantics of atomic_read() and atomic_set() by Chris Snook, except the word "assignment". Signed-off-by: Matti Linnanvuori <mattilinnanvuori@yahoo.com> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-17atomic_ops.txt: mention local_tGrant Grundler1-0/+4
local_t is a variant of atomic_t and has related ops to match. Add reference for local_t documentation to atomic_ops.txt. Signed-off-by: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-06-09Documentation/atomic_ops.txt typo fixRatnadeep Joshi1-1/+1
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2006-06-26Spelling fixes for Documentation/atomic_ops.txtMichael Hayes1-14/+14
Spelling and typo fixes for Documentation/atomic_ops.txt Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2005-11-14[PATCH] atomic: inc_not_zeroNick Piggin1-1/+13
Introduce an atomic_inc_not_zero operation. Make this a special case of atomic_add_unless because lockless pagecache actually wants atomic_inc_not_negativeone due to its offset refcount. Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-11-14[PATCH] atomic: cmpxchgNick Piggin1-0/+15
Introduce an atomic_cmpxchg operation. Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@us.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds1-0/+456
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!

Privacy Policy