aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/openrisc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>2020-04-01 21:08:45 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-04-02 09:35:30 -0700
commit4064b982706375025628094e51d11cf1a958a5d3 (patch)
treedc88974da3795f26c8cf9b56740b9bd04f4a97e2 /arch/openrisc
parentc270a7eedcf278304e05ebd2c96807487c97db61 (diff)
mm: allow VM_FAULT_RETRY for multiple times
The idea comes from a discussion between Linus and Andrea [1]. Before this patch we only allow a page fault to retry once. We achieved this by clearing the FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY flag when doing handle_mm_fault() the second time. This was majorly used to avoid unexpected starvation of the system by looping over forever to handle the page fault on a single page. However that should hardly happen, and after all for each code path to return a VM_FAULT_RETRY we'll first wait for a condition (during which time we should possibly yield the cpu) to happen before VM_FAULT_RETRY is really returned. This patch removes the restriction by keeping the FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY flag when we receive VM_FAULT_RETRY. It means that the page fault handler now can retry the page fault for multiple times if necessary without the need to generate another page fault event. Meanwhile we still keep the FAULT_FLAG_TRIED flag so page fault handler can still identify whether a page fault is the first attempt or not. Then we'll have these combinations of fault flags (only considering ALLOW_RETRY flag and TRIED flag): - ALLOW_RETRY and !TRIED: this means the page fault allows to retry, and this is the first try - ALLOW_RETRY and TRIED: this means the page fault allows to retry, and this is not the first try - !ALLOW_RETRY and !TRIED: this means the page fault does not allow to retry at all - !ALLOW_RETRY and TRIED: this is forbidden and should never be used In existing code we have multiple places that has taken special care of the first condition above by checking against (fault_flags & FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY). This patch introduces a simple helper to detect the first retry of a page fault by checking against both (fault_flags & FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY) and !(fault_flag & FAULT_FLAG_TRIED) because now even the 2nd try will have the ALLOW_RETRY set, then use that helper in all existing special paths. One example is in __lock_page_or_retry(), now we'll drop the mmap_sem only in the first attempt of page fault and we'll keep it in follow up retries, so old locking behavior will be retained. This will be a nice enhancement for current code [2] at the same time a supporting material for the future userfaultfd-writeprotect work, since in that work there will always be an explicit userfault writeprotect retry for protected pages, and if that cannot resolve the page fault (e.g., when userfaultfd-writeprotect is used in conjunction with swapped pages) then we'll possibly need a 3rd retry of the page fault. It might also benefit other potential users who will have similar requirement like userfault write-protection. GUP code is not touched yet and will be covered in follow up patch. Please read the thread below for more information. [1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20171102193644.GB22686@redhat.com/ [2] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20181230154648.GB9832@redhat.com/ Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Suggested-by: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Tested-by: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com> Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com> Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org> Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de> Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220160246.9790-1-peterx@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/openrisc')
-rw-r--r--arch/openrisc/mm/fault.c1
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/openrisc/mm/fault.c b/arch/openrisc/mm/fault.c
index 30d5c51e9d40..8af1cc78c4fb 100644
--- a/arch/openrisc/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/openrisc/mm/fault.c
@@ -181,7 +181,6 @@ good_area:
else
tsk->min_flt++;
if (fault & VM_FAULT_RETRY) {
- flags &= ~FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY;
flags |= FAULT_FLAG_TRIED;
/* No need to up_read(&mm->mmap_sem) as we would

Privacy Policy