aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/s390
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorDmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>2020-12-14 19:08:21 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-12-15 12:13:41 -0800
commit73d5e06299195f4df82832cfc4a3a0c574c1e473 (patch)
treed2923cc106b9f374e309b8760e4e5d9927b998fd /arch/s390
parentdd3b614f858d88f33e0cf8b7353e2ad937e71da3 (diff)
mremap: check if it's possible to split original vma
If original VMA can't be split at the desired address, do_munmap() will fail and leave both new-copied VMA and old VMA. De-facto it's MREMAP_DONTUNMAP behaviour, which is unexpected. Currently, it may fail such way for hugetlbfs and dax device mappings. Minimize such unpleasant situations to OOM by checking .may_split() before attempting to create a VMA copy. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201013013416.390574-6-dima@arista.com Signed-off-by: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca> Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/s390')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy