aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>2017-09-08 16:10:57 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-09-08 18:26:45 -0700
commit616b8371539a6c487404c3b8fb04078016dab4ba (patch)
tree73e4967eee56e07ba8bb7f22e4eac37811a09343 /arch/x86/include/asm
parent9c670ea37947a82cb6d4df69139f7e46ed71a0ac (diff)
mm: thp: enable thp migration in generic path
Add thp migration's core code, including conversions between a PMD entry and a swap entry, setting PMD migration entry, removing PMD migration entry, and waiting on PMD migration entries. This patch makes it possible to support thp migration. If you fail to allocate a destination page as a thp, you just split the source thp as we do now, and then enter the normal page migration. If you succeed to allocate destination thp, you enter thp migration. Subsequent patches actually enable thp migration for each caller of page migration by allowing its get_new_page() callback to allocate thps. [zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu: fix gcc-4.9.0 -Wmissing-braces warning] Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/A0ABA698-7486-46C3-B209-E95A9048B22C@cs.rutgers.edu [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix x86_64 allnoconfig warning] Signed-off-by: Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: David Nellans <dnellans@nvidia.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64.h2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
index 46bf71c77a25..972a4698c530 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable_64.h
@@ -210,7 +210,9 @@ static inline int pgd_large(pgd_t pgd) { return 0; }
((type) << (SWP_TYPE_FIRST_BIT)) \
| ((offset) << SWP_OFFSET_FIRST_BIT) })
#define __pte_to_swp_entry(pte) ((swp_entry_t) { pte_val((pte)) })
+#define __pmd_to_swp_entry(pmd) ((swp_entry_t) { pmd_val((pmd)) })
#define __swp_entry_to_pte(x) ((pte_t) { .pte = (x).val })
+#define __swp_entry_to_pmd(x) ((pmd_t) { .pmd = (x).val })
extern int kern_addr_valid(unsigned long addr);
extern void cleanup_highmap(void);

Privacy Policy