aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorEric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>2017-09-24 12:59:04 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-09-26 09:43:45 +0200
commite63e5d5c15c6b1dba26f7cbd1b1089a1d6155db5 (patch)
tree77e3062e11e6e0821b0b711a02a07b29eb8fd860 /arch/x86/include/asm
parent369a036de206710ff27a66f9bffe78ef657648c3 (diff)
x86/fpu: Introduce validate_xstate_header()
Move validation of user-supplied xstate_header into a helper function, in preparation of calling it from both the ptrace and sigreturn syscall paths. The new function also considers it to be an error if *any* reserved bits are set, whereas before we were just clearing most of them silently. This should reduce the chance of bugs that fail to correctly validate user-supplied XSAVE areas. It also will expose any broken userspace programs that set the other reserved bits; this is desirable because such programs will lose compatibility with future CPUs and kernels if those bits are ever used for anything. (There shouldn't be any such programs, and in fact in the case where the compacted format is in use we were already validating xfeatures. But you never know...) Signed-off-by: Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Kevin Hao <haokexin@gmail.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Michael Halcrow <mhalcrow@google.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Wanpeng Li <wanpeng.li@hotmail.com> Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com> Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170924105913.9157-2-mingo@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/xstate.h4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/xstate.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/xstate.h
index 579ac2358e63..83fee2469eb7 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/xstate.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/xstate.h
@@ -52,4 +52,8 @@ int copy_xstate_to_kernel(void *kbuf, struct xregs_state *xsave, unsigned int of
int copy_xstate_to_user(void __user *ubuf, struct xregs_state *xsave, unsigned int offset, unsigned int size);
int copy_kernel_to_xstate(struct xregs_state *xsave, const void *kbuf);
int copy_user_to_xstate(struct xregs_state *xsave, const void __user *ubuf);
+
+/* Validate an xstate header supplied by userspace (ptrace or sigreturn) */
+extern int validate_xstate_header(const struct xstate_header *hdr);
+
#endif

Privacy Policy