aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-09-23 15:00:01 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-09-24 13:04:34 +0200
commitf1c8cd0176078c7bcafdc89cac447cab672a0b5e (patch)
tree639f513e1d6d297d7e839f741791857598ed3b31 /arch/x86/include/asm
parentb6aa85558d7e7b18fc3470d2bc1731d2205dd275 (diff)
x86/fpu: Change fpu->fpregs_active users to fpu->fpstate_active
We want to simplify the FPU state machine by eliminating fpu->fpregs_active, and we can do that because the two state flags (::fpregs_active and ::fpstate_active) are set essentially together. The old lazy FPU switching code used to make a distinction - but there's no lazy switching code anymore, we always switch in an 'eager' fashion. Do this by first changing all substantial uses of fpu->fpregs_active to fpu->fpstate_active and adding a few debug checks to double check our assumption is correct. Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170923130016.21448-19-mingo@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h4
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
index b223c57dd5dc..7fa676f93ac1 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/fpu/internal.h
@@ -556,7 +556,9 @@ static inline void fpregs_activate(struct fpu *fpu)
static inline void
switch_fpu_prepare(struct fpu *old_fpu, int cpu)
{
- if (old_fpu->fpregs_active) {
+ WARN_ON_FPU(old_fpu->fpregs_active != old_fpu->fpstate_active);
+
+ if (old_fpu->fpstate_active) {
if (!copy_fpregs_to_fpstate(old_fpu))
old_fpu->last_cpu = -1;
else

Privacy Policy