aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-01-29 09:40:26 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-01-29 13:39:31 +0100
commitc5231a57eb406c70a96f8e515abc49daa0af697b (patch)
tree94d995206e5ebdf508af3c1e39ea0ea81c01ec19 /arch/x86/include/uapi/asm
parent0c6fc11ac343c82d4a2f8348fa6f829e07c12554 (diff)
x86/boot/e820: Fix and clean up e820_type switch() statements
A test-build of e820.o with -Wswitch-enum shows the following warnings: arch/x86/kernel/e820.c: In function ‘e820_type_to_string’: arch/x86/kernel/e820.c:965:2: warning: enumeration value ‘E820_TYPE_RESERVED’ not handled in switch [-Wswitch-enum] switch (entry->type) { ^ arch/x86/kernel/e820.c: In function ‘e820_type_to_iomem_type’: arch/x86/kernel/e820.c:979:2: warning: enumeration value ‘E820_TYPE_RESERVED’ not handled in switch [-Wswitch-enum] switch (entry->type) { ^ arch/x86/kernel/e820.c: In function ‘e820_type_to_iores_desc’: arch/x86/kernel/e820.c:993:2: warning: enumeration value ‘E820_TYPE_RESERVED’ not handled in switch [-Wswitch-enum] switch (entry->type) { ^ arch/x86/kernel/e820.c: In function ‘do_mark_busy’: arch/x86/kernel/e820.c:1015:2: warning: enumeration value ‘E820_TYPE_RAM’ not handled in switch [-Wswitch-enum] switch (type) { ^ Here's the four warnings: - The one in e820_type_to_string() is a borderline bug, we should differentiate known-reserved E820 types from unknown types. Fix it by printing a separate message for unknown E820 types. - The ones in e820_type_to_iomem_type(), e820_type_to_iores_desc() and do_mark_busy() are worth documenting, at least to the extent of enumerating them explicitly. Cc: Alex Thorlton <athorlton@sgi.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Huang, Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul Jackson <pj@sgi.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/uapi/asm')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy