aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKyle Huey <me@kylehuey.com>2017-03-20 01:16:26 -0700
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2017-03-20 16:10:34 +0100
commite9ea1e7f53b852147cbd568b0568c7ad97ec21a3 (patch)
treefd7046c239c106887b0928cdcf55913eff19c798 /arch/x86/include/uapi/asm
parent90218ac77d0582eaf2d0872d8d900cbd5bf1f205 (diff)
x86/arch_prctl: Add ARCH_[GET|SET]_CPUID
Intel supports faulting on the CPUID instruction beginning with Ivy Bridge. When enabled, the processor will fault on attempts to execute the CPUID instruction with CPL>0. Exposing this feature to userspace will allow a ptracer to trap and emulate the CPUID instruction. When supported, this feature is controlled by toggling bit 0 of MSR_MISC_FEATURES_ENABLES. It is documented in detail in Section 2.3.2 of https://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=243991 Implement a new pair of arch_prctls, available on both x86-32 and x86-64. ARCH_GET_CPUID: Returns the current CPUID state, either 0 if CPUID faulting is enabled (and thus the CPUID instruction is not available) or 1 if CPUID faulting is not enabled. ARCH_SET_CPUID: Set the CPUID state to the second argument. If cpuid_enabled is 0 CPUID faulting will be activated, otherwise it will be deactivated. Returns ENODEV if CPUID faulting is not supported on this system. The state of the CPUID faulting flag is propagated across forks, but reset upon exec. Signed-off-by: Kyle Huey <khuey@kylehuey.com> Cc: Grzegorz Andrejczuk <grzegorz.andrejczuk@intel.com> Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com> Cc: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com> Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org> Cc: user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: user-mode-linux-user@lists.sourceforge.net Cc: David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@virtuozzo.com> Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170320081628.18952-9-khuey@kylehuey.com Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/include/uapi/asm')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/prctl.h11
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/prctl.h b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/prctl.h
index 835aa51c7f6e..c45765517092 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/prctl.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/prctl.h
@@ -1,10 +1,13 @@
#ifndef _ASM_X86_PRCTL_H
#define _ASM_X86_PRCTL_H
-#define ARCH_SET_GS 0x1001
-#define ARCH_SET_FS 0x1002
-#define ARCH_GET_FS 0x1003
-#define ARCH_GET_GS 0x1004
+#define ARCH_SET_GS 0x1001
+#define ARCH_SET_FS 0x1002
+#define ARCH_GET_FS 0x1003
+#define ARCH_GET_GS 0x1004
+
+#define ARCH_GET_CPUID 0x1011
+#define ARCH_SET_CPUID 0x1012
#define ARCH_MAP_VDSO_X32 0x2001
#define ARCH_MAP_VDSO_32 0x2002

Privacy Policy